Washington Refund Anticipation Loans doing business in Washington are regulated by the Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) Division of Consumer Services.

Washington businesses that offer tax refund anticipation loans must register with DFI

How to Register with DFI

Follow the instructions below to register with DFI.

  1. Complete the tax refund anticipation loan facilitators registration form.

    Print Only PDF or Word

  2. Write a check payable to the “Washington State Treasurer” for $35.00 per Electronic Filing Identification Number (EFIN).

    For example, your main office has a unique EFIN. Three of your branch offices each have unique EFINs. Your website address has a unique EFIN. You have a total of five EFINs. Your registration fee is $35.00 x 5 = $175.00.

  3. Mail the completed form and your registration fee to:

    Department of Financial Institutions
    P.O. Box 41200
    Olympia, WA 98504-1200

Laws and Rules

Tax Refund Anticipation Loans

List of Registered Refund Anticipation Loan Facilitators

  • RAL List
    List of registered Washington Refund Anticipation Loan Facilitators (as of March 2022).

Resources

Questions? Contact Us

If you have any questions, you can contact the Licensing Staff at (360) 902-8703 or via email at CSLicensing@dfi.wa.gov