Alert updated: 10/23/2017
Originally posted: 11/01/2012
Alert number: CA048137_10/20/17(10/18)
The Washington State Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) has received complaints from Washington State consumers against Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana d/b/a MobiLoans d/b/a MobiLoans, LLC (MobiLoans). One consumer reported that he was not provided with a copy of the loan agreement after receiving a loan. Another consumer reported receiving a loan and being charged excessive fees and interest on the loan.
MobiLoans operates its website at [www.mobiloans.com]. MobiLoans lists its contact information as:
151 Melacon Drive
Marksville, LA 71351
If you have a complaint against MobiLoans, you can contact MobiLoans at:
PO Box 1409
Marksville, LA 71351
It appears that MobiLoans may be operating as an online tribal lender. MobiLoans claims to be a tribal lending entity wholly owned by the Tunica-Biloxi Tribe of Louisiana, a federally recognized Indian tribe.
MobiLoans is not licensed by the DFI and is not registered to conduct business in Washington State by the Department of Licensing, the Department of Revenue, or the Secretary of State.
The DFI warns Washington State consumers that before doing business with a financial service provider the consumer should:
- Make sure that the entity is licensed. Consumers can use the “Verify a License” feature on DFI’s website at www.dfi.wa.gov to check whether a payday or consumer loan company is licensed to conduct business in the state of Washington.
- Not provide any personal information, such as social security number or bank account number or access if the company is not licensed or authorized to conduct business.
Important Information for Washington Consumers About Unlicensed Lenders
Washington State residents are informed that Washington State law provides in RCW 31.45.105(1)(d) and (3) that a “small loan” made by an unlicensed entity to a person physically located in Washington State is uncollectible and unenforceable in Washington State. A “small loan” is defined in RCW 31.45.073 and is a loan that does not exceed $700.
Washington State residents are informed that Washington State law provides in RCW 31.04.035 that fees or interest charged in the making of a nonresidential loan by an unlicensed lender must be refunded to the borrower. For a residential mortgage loan, an unlicensed lender must refund any non-third-party fees charged in connection with the origination (excluding interest charges).
Washington residents only: If you suspect unlicensed activity by a payday lender or consumer loan company, please contact the Department at 1-877-RING-DFI (746-4334), or online at www.dfi.wa.gov. Even if the activity involves a loan you obtained over the internet, a license is generally still required. If a collection agency is attempting to collect a debt from you, check that the company is licensed by the state of Washington Department of Licensing.
Collection activities by payday lenders (regarding loan that does not exceed $700) in the state of Washington are subject to RCW 31.45.082, which limits the time, place, and manner by which a payday lender may collect a debt. Payday lenders must also provide borrowers with an installment plan if the borrower is not able to pay the small loan back when it is due.
Important Information for All Consumers
If you received a loan from a lender and someone else is now attempting to collect the loan, collection activity may be subject to the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). If you are contacted by a third party claiming you owe a debt, you can request a “written validation notice,” which must provide the amount of the debt, the name of the creditor you owe, and your rights under the FDCPA. If you have questions regarding federal debt collection laws you can contact the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) at 1-877-FTC-HELP or online at www.ftc.gov.
If you feel you have been the victim of a scam you can contact the FTC at 1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357) or online at www.ftc.gov; or the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) at 1-855-411-CFPB (2372) or online at www.consumerfinance.gov.
If the scammers already have your bank account information, social security number, or other personal information, you may be a victim of identity theft. You can contact your bank and the three major credit bureaus take appropriate precautions. The FTC has information for victims of identity theft online at www.ftc.gov.
If you feel you have been the victim of a scam involving the internet you can contact the Internet Crime Complaint Center online at www.ic3.gov.
If you feel you have been the victim of a financial scam and are concerned about your personal financial information, you can contact your banking institution and the three major credit bureaus. Procedures for contacting the credit bureaus are available on the FTC’s website at www.ftc.gov.
If you live in another state, go to this webpage to find the regulator in your home state. http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/consumer/Pages/AgencyContacts.aspx.