Assessment Due Date – Thursday April 15, 2021
All Washington State Check Cashers and Small Loan Endorsements Annual Assessments are due by close of business on April 15, 2021.
In order to avoid late fees and penalties, all assessment reports and payments must be filed by close of business (5pm Pacific Standard Time) on April 15, 2021.
This means you must have submitted your annual assessment online, uploaded all necessary documents/information into NMLS, attested to the accuracy of the report, and made your electronic payment through the system by that deadline.
We suggest you begin the process early to ensure a timely filing.
About the Online Annual Assessment System
In an effort to streamline the filing process, DFI utilizes an online assessment filing system. This system allows you to file the Annual Assessment Report (AAR), Consolidated Annual Report (CAR) as well as make an electronic payment via Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover card) for assessment fees up to $10,000.00; or via E-Check Payments.
If you plan to use E-Check and you have an ACH debit block on your bank account, you must notify your financial institution to allow the E-Check to be processed. Removing the ACH debit block for DFI can take as long as two business days. DFI’s company identification number is G911443137.
Frequently Asked Questions
What if I was licensed, but I did not do any business in Washington during the 2020 calendar year?
Even if you did no business in Washington during 2020, if you hold a license you must file the report with DFI by April 15, 2021.
What happens if my company files after the April 15, 2021, deadline?
If you file after the deadline, DFI has the authority to suspend your license(s) and assess a late fee equal to 25 percent of your annual assessment fee.
Can I provide my annual assessment and payment outside of the online system?
No. DFI only accepts annual assessment filings through the online system. If you submit your annual assessment and payment outside of the online system, DFI will reject your submission and you will have to re-submit your filing and payment electronically. You must complete your online filing by the April 15, 2021 deadline to avoid license suspension and late fees.
What constitutes a complete filing?
A complete filing includes the following items:
- Enter the last five or more digits of your WA license number (530-CC-#####).
- Review the listing of your current locations on record with WA DFI. Please note, if any WA locations were closed in 2020, they will not be listed and must be entered-in manually in order to calculate your correct assessment.
- Provide for the Annual Assessment Report (AAR) your total dollar volume of checks cashed in WA in 2020. If you have a small loan endorsement, you must also provide your total dollar volume of small loans made in 2020.
- Provide the Consolidated Annual Report (CAR) information requested for the 2020 reporting year. [See WAC 208-630-830]
- Confirm the submission of required financial statements has been made in NMLS.
- Review your company’s check casher annual assessment reporting summary for accuracy and print a copy for your records.
- Validate your assessment fee is correct and submit payment information (if applicable).
- Save your submission/payment receipt for your records and close your browser.