

## State of Washington

## DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

P.O. Box 41200 • Olympia, Washington 98504-1200 Telephone (360) 902-8700 • TDD (360) 664-8126 • FAX (360) 586-5068 • http://www.dfi.wa.gov

## General Licensure Requirements for Mortgage Broker Applicants

Provided below is a summary of some of the more common licensure requirements associated with applying for a mortgage broker license in the state of Washington. This is not intended to be a comprehensive list but is meant to give applicants an idea of some of the more common issues that may arise while applying for this license.

- Applicant must provide the **criminal history** of the **applicant and any others subject to the act** if they have been **convicted of, pled guilty to, or pled nolo contendere (no contest)** to, in a domestic, foreign, or military court:
  - o gross misdemeanors involving dishonesty or financial misconduct within the prior seven years
  - a felony within the prior seven years
  - o a felony that involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money laundering
- Applicant must provide information relating to any **adverse actions** taken in Washington, another state, or by the federal government against:
  - any license held by the **applicant or any others subject to the act** or under any similar statute of Washington or any other state if the license has been **suspended or restricted** within the past five years
  - any **applicant or any others subject to the act** or under any similar statute, including insurance, securities, consumer lending, or escrow, of Washington or any other state if the license has been **revoked**
  - the **applicant or any others subject to the act** that have been subject to a **statement of charges**, **cease and desist order**, or an **injunction** issued pursuant to this Act or rules, or the Consumer Protection Act
  - the **applicant or any others subject to the act** that have been found through an administrative, civil, or criminal proceeding to have violated the provisions of this Act or rules, or the Consumer Protection Act
- Applicant must provide information to show the applicant, principals, and designated broker have the **financial responsibility, character, and general fitness** to command the confidence of the community and to warrant a belief that the business will be operated honestly, fairly, and efficiently within the purposes of the Act.
- Applicant must be domiciled in the United States
- Applicant must maintain a **surety bond**: the cost of obtaining a bond varies
  - o Mortgage brokers: \$20,000 minimum; \$60,000 maximum
  - o Residential mortgage loan modification services: \$20,000

If you have any questions about the information outlined above, please feel free to contact the Washington DFI Licensing Unit at (360) 902-8703, or <u>DCS@dfi.wa.gov</u>.