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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

DIVISION OF CONSUMER SERVICES

IN THE MATTER OF DETERMINING
Whether there has been a violation of the
Mortgage Broker Practices Act of Washington by:

A-1 Mortgage, LLC and 
James E. Yoest, Designated Broker,

Respondents.

NO. C-02-355-02-FO01
(Old No. 2002-147-O01)

FINAL ORDER

I. DIRECTOR'S CONSIDERATION

A. Review. This matter has come before the Director to review the Statement of Charges 

and Notice Of Intention To Revoke License And Impose Fines (“Statement of Charges”) entered by the 

Director through her designee Assistant Director Mark Thomson on November 19, 2002, a copy of which 

documents are attached and incorporated into this order by this reference.  The Department served the 

Statement of Charges by certified mail on November 29, 2002.  Respondents did not request an 

administrative hearing. 

B. Record of Proceedings.The entire record of this proceeding, including but not limited to the 

Director’s designee’s Statement of Charges and Notice Of Intention To Revoke License And Impose Fines, 

was presented to the Director for her review and for entry of a final decision.

C. Factual Findings and Grounds For Order. The Director hereby adopts the Statement of 

Charges and Notice Of Intention To Revoke License And Impose Fines, which is attached hereto.
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II.  FINAL ORDER

Based upon the foregoing, and the Director having considered the entire record and being otherwise 

fully advised, NOW, THEREFORE:

A. Final Order. IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, That:

1. Respondent’s mortgage broker license is revoked, and 

2. Respondent pay an examination fee, calculated at $46.26 per hour for three staff 

hours devoted to the examination, totaling $138.48, and

3. Respondent pay a fine of $1,500.00, calculated at $50.00 per day for thirty days, and

4. Payment of the examination fee and fine shall be suspended unless and until such time 

as the Respondent applies for a license from the Department, at which time the total 

fine and examination shall be due and owing.

B. That Respondent provide to the Department information relating to the location of all 

books, records and other information relating to Respondent’s mortgage broker business, and 

provide to the Department the name, address and telephone number of the individual responsible for 

the maintenance of such records in compliance with the Act.

C. Reconsideration. Pursuant to RCW 34.05.470, Respondent has the right to file a 

petition for reconsideration stating the specific grounds upon which relief is requested.  The petition must be 

filed in the Office of the Director of the Department of Financial Institutions, 210 11th Ave. West, Suite 300, 

P.O. Box 41200, Olympia, Washington 98504-1200, within ten (10) days of service of the Final Order upon 

Respondent.  The petition for reconsideration shall not stay the effectiveness of this order nor is a petition for 

reconsideration a prerequisite for seeking judicial review in this matter.
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A timely petition for reconsideration is deemed denied if, within twenty (20) days from the date the 

petition is filed, the agency does not (a) dispose of the petition or (b) serve the parties with a written notice 

specifying the date by which it will act on a petition.

D. Stay of Order. The Director has determined not to consider a petition to stay the 

effectiveness of this order.  Any such requests should be made in connection with a petition for judicial 

review made under chapter 34.05 RCW and RCW 34.05.550.

E. Judicial Review. Respondent has the right to petition the superior court for judicial 

review of this agency action under the provisions of chapter 34.05 RCW.  For the requirements for filing a 

petition for judicial review, see RCW 34.050.510 and sections following.

F. Service. For purposes of filing a Petition for Reconsideration or a Petition for Judicial 

Review, service is effective upon deposit of this order in the U.S. mail, affidavit of service attached hereto.

DATED this _22nd_ day of _January_, 2003.

STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

_/S/___________________________________
Helen Howell
Director
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STATE OF WASHINGTON
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION

IN THE MATTER OF DETERMINING
Whether there has been a violation of the
Mortgage Broker Practices Act of Washington by:

A-1 Mortgage, LLC and James E. Yoest, Designated 
Broker,

Respondents.

NO. C-02-355-02-SC01
(Old No. 2002-147-C01)

STATEMENT OF CHARGES and NOTICE OF 
INTENT TO REVOKE LICENSE AND IMPOSE 
FINES

INTRODUCTION

Pursuant to RCW 19.146.220 and RCW 19.146.223, the Director of the Department of Financial Institutions 

of the State of Washington (“Director”) is responsible for the administration of chapter 19.146 RCW, the Mortgage 

Broker Practices Act (“Act”).  The referenced statutes (RCW) and rules (WAC) are attached, in pertinent part.  After 

having conducted an investigation, and based upon the facts available as of November 13, 2002, the Director institutes 

this proceeding and finds as follows:

I.  FACTS

1. Respondents:

A. A-1 Mortgage, LLC is known to conduct the business of a mortgage broker at:

19525 100th Ave Ct E
Graham WA  98338

B. James E. Yoest was named designated broker in 1998 and has continued as designated broker to 

date.

2. License: A-1 Mortgage, LLC was licensed by the Department of Financial Institutions (“Department”) 

to conduct business as a mortgage broker on April 28, 1998, and has continued to be licensed to date.
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3. State Corporate License:  A-1 Mortgage, LLC was incorporated to do business in the State of 

Washington on March 11, 1998.  The license of the corporation, issued by the Washington State Secretary of 

State, expired on March 31, 2002.  To date, A-1 Mortgage, LLC has not notified the Department of this change 

in standing with the State of Washington Secretary of State.

4. Continuing Education Requirement:  A certificate of satisfactory completion of an approved 

continuing education course was due to the Department no later than the last business day of April 2002.

5. Issuance of Directive:  On August 2, 2002, the Department issued a directive to Respondents requiring 

the submission of a certificate of satisfactory completion of an approved continuing education course.

6. Failure to Submit Certificate:  To date, the Department has not received the required certificate due 

from Respondents.

II.  GROUNDS FOR ENTRY OF ORDER

1. Disclosure of Significant Developments:  Pursuant to WAC 208-660-150, the licensee must notify the 

Director in writing within five days after a change in the licensee’s status with the state of Washington Secretary 

of State.

2. Continuing Education Requirement:  Pursuant to RCW 19.146.215 and WAC 208-660-042, the 

designated broker of every licensee shall complete an annual continuing education requirement and file a 

certificate of satisfactory completion no later than the last business day of the month in which the anniversary 

date of the issuance of the licensee’s license occurs.

3. Authority to Revoke License:  Pursuant to RCW 19.146.220(2)(b)(iii), and WAC 208-660-160(19), 

the Director may revoke a license for failure to comply with any directive or order of the Director and for failure 

to provide a required certificate of satisfactory completion of an approved continuing education course.

4. Authority to Charge Examination Fee:  Pursuant to RCW 19.146.228(2), and WAC 208-660-060(2), upon 

completion of any examination of the books and records of a licensee, the Department will furnish to the licensee a 



STATEMENT OF CHARGES and NOTICE OF INTENT 
TO REVOKE LICENSE AND IMPOSE FINES

3
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Consumer Services Division
210 11th Ave SW, Room 300

PO Box 41200
Olympia, WA  98504-1200

(360) 902-8795

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

billing to cover the cost of the examination.  The examination charge will be calculated at the rate of forty-six dollars 

and twenty-six cents ($46.26) per hour that each staff person devoted to the examination.

5. Authority to Impose Fine:  Pursuant to RCW 19.146.220(2)(c)(ii) and WAC 208-660-165, the Director 

may impose fines on the licensee for failure to comply with any directive or order of the Director. 

III.  NOTICE OF INTENT TO ENTER ORDER

Respondents’ violations of the provisions of chapter 19.146 RCW and chapter 208-660 WAC, as set forth in 

the above Facts and Grounds for Entry of Order, constitute a basis for the entry of an Order under RCW 19.146.220.  

Therefore, it is the Director’s intention to ORDER that:

1. The mortgage broker license held by Respondent A-1 Mortgage, LLC be revoked,

2. Respondents pay an examination fee to be calculated at $46.26 per hour for each staff hour devoted to the 
investigation; and

3. Respondents pay a fine of $1,500.00 for failure to comply with a directive, calculated at $50.00 per day 
for 30 days.

/ / / /

/ / / /

/ / / /

/ / / /
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IV. AUTHORITY AND PROCEDURE

This Statement of Charges and Notice is entered pursuant to the provisions of RCW 19.146.220, 

RCW 19.146.221. and RCW 19.146.230, and is subject to the provisions of chapter 34.05 RCW (The 

Administrative Procedure Act).  Respondents may make a written request for a hearing as set forth in the 

NOTICE OF OPPORTUNITY TO DEFEND AND OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING accompanying this 

Statement of Charges and Notice of Intent to Revoke License and Impose Fines.

Dated this _29th_ day of_November_, 2002.

/S/
MARK THOMSON
ASSISTANT DIRECTOR
DIVISION OF CONSUMER SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

Reviewed by:

/S/
Chuck Cross, Enforcement Chief
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RCW 19.146.215 Continuing education – Rules. The designated broker of every licensee shall complete an annual 
continuing education requirement, which the director shall define by rule. [1997 c 106 § 11; 1994 c 33 § 11.]

RCW 19.146.220 Director – Powers and duties – Violations as separate violations – Rules. (1) The director shall 
enforce all laws and rules relating to the licensing of mortgage brokers, grant or deny licenses to mortgage brokers, and 
hold hearings.
(2) The director may impose the following sanctions:
(. . .
(b) Suspend or revoke licenses for:
(i) False statements or omission of material information on the application that, if known, would have allowed the 
director to deny the application for the original license;
(ii) Failure to pay a fee required by the director or maintain the required bond;
(iii) Failure to comply with any directive or order of the director; or
(iv) Any violation of RCW 19.146.050, 19.146.060(3), 19.146.0201 (1) through (9) or (12), 19.146.205(4), or 
19.146.265; 
(c) Impose fines on the licensee, employee or loan originator of the licensee, or other person subject to this chapter for:
(i) Any violations of RCW 19.146.0201 (1) through (9) or (12), 19.146.030 through 19.146.080, 19.146.200, 
19.146.205(4), or 19.146.265; or
(ii) Failure to comply with any directive or order of the director;
. . .
(3) Each day's continuance of a violation or failure to comply with any directive or order of the director is a separate and 
distinct violation or failure.
. . . 
[1997 c 106 § 12; 1997 c 58 § 879; 1996 c 103 § 1; 1994 c 33 § 12; 1993 c 468 § 8.]

RCW 19.146.221 Action by director – Hearing – Sanction. The director may, at his or her discretion and as provided 
for in *RCW 19.146.220(2), take any action specified in RCW 19.146.220(1). If the person subject to such action does 
not appear in person or by counsel at the time and place designated for any administrative hearing that may be held on 
the action then the person shall be deemed to consent to the action. If the person subject to the action consents, or if after 
hearing the director finds by a preponderance of the evidence that any grounds for sanctions under this chapter exist, then 
the director may impose any sanction authorized by this chapter. [1994 c 33 § 13.]

RCW 19.146.223 Director – Administration and interpretation. The director shall have the power and broad 
administrative discretion to administer and interpret the provisions of this chapter to fulfill the intent of the legislature as 
expressed in RCW 19.146.005. [1994 c 33 § 2.]

RCW 19.146.225 Director – Rule-making powers. In accordance with the administrative procedure act, chapter 34.05 
RCW, the director may issue rules under this chapter only after seeking the advice of the mortgage brokerage commission 
and to govern the activities of licensed mortgage brokers and other persons subject to this chapter. [1994 c 33 § 15; 1993 
c 468 § 9.]

RCW 19.146.228 Fees – Rules – Exception. The director shall establish fees by rule in accordance with RCW 43.24.086 
sufficient to cover, but not exceed, the costs of administering this chapter. These fees may include:
. . .(2) An investigation fee to cover the costs of any investigation of the books and records of a licensee or other person 
subject to this chapter; . . . .[1997 c 106 § 13; 1994 c 33 § 9.]

RCW 19.146.230 Administrative procedure act application. The proceedings for denying license applications, issuing 
cease and desist orders, suspending or revoking licenses, and imposing civil penalties or other remedies issued pursuant 
to this chapter and any appeal therefrom or review thereof shall be governed by the provisions of the administrative 
procedure act, chapter 34.05 RCW. [1994 c 33 § 16; 1993 c 468 § 10.]
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WAC 208-660-042(1)       Continuing education requirement.      (1) The principal or designated broker of a licensee 
must satisfactorily complete an approved continuing education course annually. Each licensee must file annually a 
certificate of satisfactory completion of an approved continuing education course by the licensee's principal or designated 
broker no later than the last business day of the month in which the anniversary date of the issuance of the licensee's 
license occurs.

WAC 208-660-060       Department's fees and assessments.      (1) Upon completion of processing and reviewing an 
application for a license or branch office certificate, the department will prepare a billing, regardless of whether a license 
or certificate has been issued, calculated at the rate of $35.98 per hour that each staff person devoted to processing and 
reviewing the application. The application deposit will be applied against this bill. Any amount left owing to the 
department will be billed to and paid promptly by the applicant, while any balance remaining from the deposit will be 
refunded promptly to the applicant.
     (2) Upon completion of any examination of the books and records of a licensee, the department will furnish to the 
licensee a billing to cover the cost of the examination. The examination charge will be calculated at the rate of $46.26 per 
hour that each staff person devoted to the examination. The examination billing will be paid by the licensee promptly 
upon receipt. Licensees that were issued licenses prior to March 21, 1994, have prepaid in their initial license fee the cost 
of the first compliance examination of the licensee conducted by the department during the first two years after the date of 
issuance of the license.
     (3) Each licensee shall pay to the director an annual assessment of $513.95 for each license, and $513.95 for each 
branch office certificate. The annual assessment(s) will be due no later than the last business day of the month in which 
the anniversary date of the issuance of the broker's license occurs.
     (4) Upon completion of any investigation of the books and records of a mortgage broker other than a licensee, the 
department will furnish to the broker a billing to cover the cost of the investigation. The investigation charge will be 
calculated at the rate of $46.26 per hour that each staff person devoted to the investigation. The investigation billing will 
be paid by the mortgage broker promptly upon receipt. 

WAC 208-660-150       Disclosure of significant developments.  (1) A licensee must notify the director in writing within 
thirty days after the occurrence of any of the following developments:
. . . 
     (3) A licensee must notify the director in writing within five days after a change in the licensee's:
. . . (f) Standing with the state of Washington secretary of state.

WAC 208-660-160    License application denial or condition; license suspension or revocation.      The director may 
deny or condition approval of a license application, or suspend or revoke a license if the applicant or licensee, or any 
principal or designated broker of the applicant or licensee:
. . .     (19) Has failed to provide a required certificate of satisfactory completion of an approved continuing education 
course. 

WAC 208-660-165       Fines and penalties for violation of the Mortgage Broker Practices Act.      Each mortgage 
broker and each of its principals, designated brokers, officers, employees, independent contractors, and agents shall 
comply with the applicable provisions of the Mortgage Broker Practices Act. Each violation of any applicable provision of 
the Mortgage Broker Practices Act, or of any order, directive, or requirement of the director may, at the discretion of the 
director, subject the violator to a fine of up to one hundred dollars for each offense. Each day's continuance of the 
violation is a separate and distinct offense. In addition, the director in his or her discretion may by order assess other 
penalties for a violation of the Mortgage Broker Practices Act.


