Date Posted: 
Monday, August 14, 2017

Alert Number: CA047898_8/10/17(8/18)

The Washington State Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) has received complaints that the Rosebud Sioux Tribe have been doing business as:

  • Rosebud Lending AMT d/b/a
  • Rosebud Lending BHL d/b/a
  • Rosebud Lending DRT d/b/a
  • Rosebud Lending LZO d/b/a
  • Rosebud Lending PCL d/b/a
  • Rosebud Lending RQC d/b/a

Several Washington consumers have reported that these businesses charge excessive fees and interest, and have refused installment plan requests. The facts in the complaints are alleged by consumers, and DFI has not verified this information.

These companies have been associated with the following contact information:

Rosebud Lending AMT d/b/a
Tel: 888*408*4394

Rosebud Lending BHL d/b/a
Tel: 1*877*873*8710
Fax: 1*561*513*4095

Rosebud Lending DRT d/b/a
P.O. Box 1146
Mission, SD 57555
Tel: 1*855*667*4134
Tel: 1*605*252*3529
Fax: 1*855*607*8516

Rosebud Lending LZO d/b/a
PO Box 1147
27565 Research Park Dr.
Mission, SD 57555
Tel: 1*888*980*1532

Rosebud Lending PCL d/b/a
101 Research Park Drive
PO Box 995
Mission, SD 57570
Fax: 1*866*364*1651

Rosebud Lending RQC d/b/a
PO Box 1149
Mission, SD 57555
Tel: 866*288*9653
Fax: 566*711*8627

It appears that these companies may be operating as online tribal lending companies. These companies assert ownership by the Rosebud Sioux Tribe, a federally-recognized Indian Tribe located in South Dakota.

These companies are not licensed by DFI and are not registered to conduct business in Washington State by the Department of Licensing, Department of Revenue, or the Secretary of State.

DFI warns Washington consumers that before doing business with a financial service provider the consumer should:

  • Make sure that the entity is licensed. Consumers can use the “Verify a License” feature on DFI’s website at to check whether a payday or consumer loan company is licensed to conduct business in the state of Washington.
  • Not provide any personal information, such as social security number or bank account number or access if the company is not licensed or authorized to conduct business.

Important Information for Washington State Consumers

Washington State residents are informed that Washington State law provides in RCW 31.45.105(1)(d) and (3) that a “small loan” made by an unlicensed entity to a person physically located in Washington State is uncollectible and unenforceable in Washington State. A “small loan” is defined in RCW 31.45.073 and is a loan that does not exceed $700.

Washington State residents with loans exceeding $700 are informed that Washington State law provides in RCW 31.04.035 that fees or interest charged in the making of a nonresidential loan by an unlicensed lender must be refunded to the borrower.

Report Unlicensed Lending Activity or Fraud

Washington State residents only: If you suspect unlicensed activity by a payday lender or consumer loan company, please contact the Department at 1*877*RING*DFI (746*4334), or online at Even if your activity involves a loan over the internet, a license may still be required.