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2015 Updated Forms 
for DFI Guide to Home Loans 

Effective Oct. 3, 2015

This insert is meant to provide a brief summary/explanation of two new forms  
Washington Sate homeowners may be asked to sign in the process of purchasing a 

home. If you have questions about any of this information,  
please contact Lyn Peters at 360-902-8731 or lyn.peters@dfi.wa.gov.

LOAN ESTIMATE AND CLOSING DISCLOSURE FORMS

For more than 30 years Federal law has required lenders to provide two different disclosure forms to 
consumers applying for a mortgage and two different forms at or shortly before closing on the loan. 
Beginning Oct. 3, 2015, new forms (Loan Estimate and Closing Disclosure) will be used by lenders in 
place of the old forms. The old forms included the Good Faith Estimate (GFE) on pages 19-21 of this 
guide, Truth-in-Lending Disclosure (TIL) on page 23 of this guide, and HUD-1 or HUD-1A Settlement 
Statement (HUD-1) on pages 27, 29 and 30 of this guide. The new forms (Loan Estimate - on pages 
3-5 of this insert, and Closing Disclosure - on pages 7-11 of this insert) will be used for most home 
purchases and refinances; however, the old forms (GFE, TIL, and HUD-1) may still be used for some 
transactions, such as home equity lines of credit, reverse mortgages, or mortgages secured by mo-
bile home or a dwelling that is not attached to real property. 

Within three days of your application, the lender is required to provide you with a Loan Estimate. If 
there are changes in your application – including your loan amount, credit score, or verified income 
– your rate and terms will likely change and the lender will give you a revised Loan Estimate. At least 
three days before your closing, you will get a Closing Disclosure. 

For more information about the new disclosures please visit the Consumer Financial Protection Bu-
reau (CFPB) at http://www.consumerfinance.gov/knowbeforeyouowe   

Washington State Department of Financial Institutions
P.O. Box 41200 Olympia, WA 98504-1200

1.877.RING.DFI n www.dfi.wa.gov

“Regulating financial services to protect and educate the public 
and promote economic vitality.”

mailto:lyn.peters%40dfi.wa.gov?subject=Guide%20to%20Home%20Loans%202015%20Insert
http://www.consumerfinance.gov/knowbeforeyouowe
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LOAN ESTIMATE 
The Loan Estimate shows the key features and costs of the mortgage loan for which you are apply-
ing. It provides the interest rate, term, loan amount, settlement costs, expected payments, and other 
significant features of a particular loan. 

Page 1 of the Loan Estimate form (at right) includes some of the more important features of your 
loan. 
•	 The top includes your name and address, the property address, the sale price, the loan term, and 

whether the rate is locked (and if so, how long the rate lock is valid). 
•	 The box titled “Loan Terms” lists your loan’s important terms such as the amount of the loan, 

interest rate, and estimated monthly payment, and whether any of the amounts can increase after 
closing, and whether there is a prepayment penalty or balloon payment. 

•	 The box titled “Projected Payments” provides a breakdown of possible payments for the life of 
your loan, showing the amounts you will pay each month in principal and interest, mortgage insur-
ance, and the estimated escrow amount. 

•	 The box titled “Costs at Closing” provides the estimated closing costs and the estimated amount 
of cash you need to bring to closing (more detail can be found on page 2).  

Page 2 of the Loan Estimate form (on page 4 of this insert) lists the details of the closing costs: 
•	 Section A lists fees that the lender has complete control over, such as origination and discount 

points, application fee, and underwriting fee. If this fee is higher than the fee you were first quoted, 
find out why and negotiate a better fee if possible. 

•	 Section B lists fees that are charged by third parties such as the appraisal, credit report, and in-
spection. These fees should be passed on to you without any markup. 

•	 Section C lists fees for services provided by third parties that you may choose yourself. These 
amounts may vary depending on the service provider you choose. 

•	 Section E lists taxes and other government fees such as recording fees or other taxes.  
•	 Section F and G list the interest, taxes, and premiums for mortgage, flood, and hazard insurance. 

These will vary depending on your closing date and are not negotiable. If you close in the start of 
the month, you will be prepaying more interest than if you close at the end of the month. These 
items must be paid up front or deposited into an escrow account.  

•	 Section J lists the total closing costs by adding up all the items in sections A-C and E-H and de-
ducting lender credits (if any). 

Page 3 of the Loan Estimate form (on page 5 of this insert) provides additional information about 
your loan. 
•	 The box titled “Comparisons” is a good tool when comparing loan offers. It provides the total you 

will have paid in principal, interest, mortgage insurance, and loan costs after five years as well as 
the amount of principal you will have paid. In addition, it provides your Annual Percentage Rate 
(APR) which shows your costs over the loan term as a rate and your Total Interest Percentage 
(TIP) which shows the total amount of interest that you pay over the loan term as a percentage of 
your loan amount. 

•	 The box titled “Other Considerations” provides information about appraisals, homeowner’s insur-
ance, late payments, and servicing. 
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CLOSING DISCLOSURE
The Closing Disclosure form sums up the terms of your loan and what you pay at closing. Typically, 
the closing agent gathers the pertinent information, completes the Closing Disclosure, and disperses 
the required funds once the buyer and seller have certified the accuracy of the statement by signing 
it. The Closing Disclosure has a similar format and the same numbering system as the Loan Estimate 
to easily compare the numbers on your Closing Disclosure to your most recent Loan Estimate. There 
should not be any significant changes other than those to which you have already agreed.

Page 1 of the Closing Disclosure form (at right) should be almost identical to your most recent 
Loan Estimate form. In addition to a statement of the transaction and loan information it will also 
include closing information such as the closing date, disbursement date, and settlement agent. You 
should then compare the “Loan Terms”, “Projected Payments”, and “Costs at Closing” boxes for any 
changes from the most recent Loan Estimate.

Page 2 of the Closing Disclosure form (on page 8 of this insert) lists the details of the closing costs 
and is broken down into a summary of each party’s side of the transaction.  Borrower-paid on the left 
side, Seller-paid in the middle, and paid by others on the right side. It is identical to page two of the 
Loan Summary except the line items are numbered and a majority of line items indicate to whom the 
money was paid. 

Page 3 of the Closing Disclosure form (on page 9 of this insert) includes two tables that will help 
you review your transaction. 
•	 A table entitled “Calculating Cash to Close” will help you easily see what changed from your Loan 

Estimate. The left column lists the amount from the Loan Estimate, the middle column lists the 
amounts from the Closing Disclosure, and the right column tells you where the amounts changed 
and where to look on the Closing Disclosure for an explanation as to why the amounts changed. 

•	 The “Summaries of Transactions” table shows an abbreviated summary of your transaction. The 
left column is your transaction while the right column is the seller’s transaction. The very bottom of 
the sheet provides the amount the borrower needs to provide (or will receive) as well as the cash 
the seller will receive (or will need to provide) at closing.   

Page 4 of the Closing Disclosure form (on page 10 of this insert) provides additional loan disclo-
sures. It includes information such as whether your loan is assumable, has a demand feature, can 
negatively amortize, and what your lender will do with partial payments. In addition, it provides infor-
mation about your escrow account. It includes an estimate of your property costs over year one (such 
as homeowner’s insurance, property taxes and homeowner’s association dues. It also provides the 
amount of your monthly escrow payment. 

Page 5 of the Closing Disclosure form (on page 11 of this insert) provides a breakdown of your 
total payments (amount you will have paid after making all payments), finance charge (the dol-
lar amount the loan costs you), amount financed (the loan amount after paying the up-front finance 
charge), APR (your costs over the loan term expressed as a rate), and TIP (the total amount of inter-
est you will pay over the loan terms as a percentage of your loan amount). It also includes additional 
loan disclosures and contact information for your lender, mortgage broker (if you used one), buyer’s 
real estate broker, seller’s real estate broker, and the settlement agent. 
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YOUR GUIDE TO HOME OWNERSHIP
Welcome to the Department of Financial Institutions 
(DFI) guide to home loans. Whether you’re buying your 
first home, considering a second mortgage, refinancing, 
or considering a reverse mortgage the loan process 
can be confusing and complicated. As you embark on 
one of the biggest financial decisions you’ll make in 
your lifetime, use this Guide to understand and to help 
navigate this process. 

Washington State is a leader when it comes to passing 
and regulations that protect consumers and ensure 
sound business practices in the mortgage industry. This 
booklet was updated in April 2009. Visit http://www.
dfi.wa.gov/consumers/education/home.htm to verify 
you have the most recent information regarding the 
mortgage industry.

Educating yourself can help you avoid common pitfalls  
and assist you in determining what type of home loan is  
best for you. 

ABOUT DFI 
The Department of Financial Institutions licenses and 
regulates a variety of Washington State Financial 
Service providers such as banks, credit unions, mortgage 
brokers, consumer loan companies, money transmitters, 
payday lenders and securities broker-dealers and 
investment advisors.  DFI also works to protect consumers 
from financial fraud.
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SECTION 1 

BUILDING A STRONG FOUNDATION

Imagine building your house on the sand. When the first 
rainstorm blows through, your new house will most likely 
be washed out to sea. Without placing your house on a 
solid foundation you can not weather a disaster. Building 
a foundation of knowledge about the loan borrowing 
process is equally important. Here are five steps to help 
you begin your journey:

Beginning Your Journey 
1 .  Before you buy a home, attend a free homeownership  

education course offered by a HUD-approved housing  
counseling organization or agency.

2.  Gather all your financial documents; check your credit  
history and fix any blemishes on your credit before you  
apply for a loan.

3.  Determine how much home you can truly afford.

4.  Keep accurate notes; make a file and keep all loan   
documents and correspondence in that file. 

5.  Shop for a lender and compare costs. Be suspicious if  
anyone tries to steer you to just one lender. Contact the  
Washington State Department of Financial Institutions  
to ensure that you’re working with a  
licensed professional. 

Construction Crew
Whether you’re buying a home for the first time or 
refinancing a loan for the third time, it’s important to know 
who the main players are and what roles they play in the 
transaction. 

Here are Some Initial Introductions: 

Borrower: a person who has been approved to receive 
a loan and is then obligated to repay the loan, and any 
additional fees according to the loan terms. 

Selling Agent: the real estate agent obtaining the 
buyer rather than listing the property. The listing and 
selling agent may be the same person or company. 

Listing Agent: a real estate agent who represents the 
seller or buyer and works to find a listing. 

Mortgage Broker: any person who, for compensation 
or gain, makes a residential mortgage loan or assists a 
person in obtaining or applying to obtain a residential 
mortgage loan. 

Loan Originator: a person working directly for a 
mortgage broker or mortgage banker who takes a 
residential mortgage loan application or offers or 
negotiates terms of a mortgage loan, for direct or 
indirect compensation or gain.

Lender (a Bank, Credit Union, or Mortgage Bank): any 
person or entity loaning funds which are to be repaid. 

Loan Officer: a person working directly for a bank 
or credit union who takes a residential mortgage loan 
application or offers or negotiates terms of a mortgage 
loan, for direct or indirect compensation or gain.

Title Company/Title Insurance Company: 
a company that issues an insurance policy that 
guarantees an owner has title to real property and can 
legally transfer it to someone else.  A title policy may 
protect the mortgage lender, the home buyer, or both. 

Appraiser: a qualified individual who uses his or her 
experience and knowledge to determine the value of a 
home and prepare the appraisal estimate. 

Inspector: a designated agent who inspects and 
documents the physical condition of the property as 
described and verified in an inspection certificate. 

Escrow Agent/Agency: the person or organization 
having a fiduciary responsibility to both the buyer and 
seller to see that the terms of the purchase/sale (or loan) 
are carried out. Often referred to as “closing” the loan, 
independent escrow agents, title companies, attorneys 
and even the lender may serve in this role. 

Understanding Your Credit 
Credit provides a way to acquire merchandise or money 
with the understanding that you will repay the loan. 
Your history for paying your bills on time is collected 
by credit bureaus or credit-reporting agencies. These 
businesses gather, maintain, and sell information about 
consumers’ credit histories. They collect information about 
your payment habits from banks, credit unions, finance 
companies, or retailers. 

Why is it Important? 
Generally lenders look at several things: your income, 
your down payment or equity, your credit history, how 
much money you’ve saved, and the property you plan to 
purchase or refinance. When studying your credit history, 
almost all lenders look at your credit score and your 
debt-to-income ratio. Lenders use credit scores, known as 

FICO scores or VantageScore, as an important factor in 
the decision whether or not to offer credit. The scores can 
range from 300 to 900+ points.

Credit Problems? 
If you have a lower credit score, don’t assume that your 
choices are limited to high-cost loans. If your credit 
report contains negative information that is accurate but 
stemming from unique circumstances such as illness or 
temporary loss of income, be sure to explain your situation 
to the lender or broker.  Take the time to shop around and 
negotiate the best deal for you.  It may be that your past 
credit record is not as good as you might wish. If you’re 
currently having credit problems, you should work with a 
HUD-approved credit counseling organization or agency. 
Many offer credit counseling free of charge or for a 
nominal fee. Understand you may not be in a position to 
buy a house until your credit issues are resolved. 

The Following Conditions Will Play a Factor in Your 
Mortgage Lender’s Decision to Provide You With a Loan: 

Bankruptcy: In most cases, lenders prefer that you 
wait at least two years after a bankruptcy is dismissed 
before taking on another large debt such as a home 
loan. Bankruptcies can remain on your credit report for 
up to 10 years. It may be helpful for you to explain the 
circumstances of the bankruptcy to the lender. 

Foreclosure: Having a foreclosure on your records 
doesn’t mean that you can never buy another house. 
The mortgage lender will, however, want to know the 
reasons for your foreclosure. Most lenders will expect 
you to wait three years after a foreclosure before you 
apply for a new mortgage. 

Debts: Having too much debt may lower the chances 
for you to buy a home or refinance a mortgage. 
Making late payments or skipping payments will show 
as derogatory or negative items on your credit report. 
Taking steps to improve your credit record is one of the 
most important things you can do. 

Credit Reports 
A consumer credit report is a document that contains 
a record of an individual’s credit payment history. The 
report contains four types of information: identifying 
information, credit information, public record information, 
and inquiries. 

Identifying Information Includes: 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
you have with: 

 
 

 

The information contained on your credit report remains 
for seven years from the date it’s first reported, and then 
cycles off automatically.

TIP: Consumers are allowed to order one free copy 
of their credit report. 
To order a copy of your credit report, contact 
www.annualcreditreport.com
or

 
 

 

TIP: If you’ve been denied credit because of 
information on your credit report, the lender is 
required to provide you with the credit bureau’s 
name, address, and telephone number –  and 
you’re entitled to a free copy of your report from 
that credit bureau. The credit reporting industry 
is regulated by the federal Fair Credit Reporting 
Act, which is administered by the Federal Trade  
Commission (FTC).

How Much Home Can You Afford? 
Determining how much you can afford is an important 
first step in shopping. How much will your monthly 
payments be? Take into consideration future changes in 
your household income. Are you anticipating a promotion 
at work that would increase your salary? Will you be 
adjusting from a double income family to a single income 
in the coming years? If the interest rate is adjustable - can 
you afford the larger payment if the rates increase? 

Your debt-to-income ratio is the amount of debt payments 
per month divided by the amount of your income per 
month. This ratio helps lenders decide how large a 
monthly payment you can afford. 
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In addition to the lender knowing what you can afford, 
You must be comfortable with the size of your monthly 
payment. One way to do this is to utilize a mortgage 
calculator. This can be found on-line, and is an easy-to-
use tool to help you determine how much you can afford. 

Generally, your monthly housing expenses, including 
principal, interest, property taxes, and homeowners 

monthly income;  your total long term monthly obligations 
(such as housing expenses, car payments and insurance, 

percent of your gross income.

Understanding the Types of Mortgages 
When searching for a type of mortgage, it’s important 
to choose the best loan program that fits your personal 
wants and needs. The right type of mortgage for you 
depends on many different factors, such as: 

 
 
 

payment.

The best way to find the “right” answer is to discuss your 
current finances, your plans and financial prospects, 
and your preferences with a real estate or mortgage 
professional. 

Here are Some Common Types of Mortgages You 
Should Know About:

Fixed-Rated Mortgage: A mortgage on which the 
interest rate stays the same for the term of the loan. 

Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM): A mortgage in which 
the interest rate may periodically adjust based on a pre-
selected index and a margin is an ARM. The ARM is also 
known as a variable rate mortgage. These types of loans 
may have lower monthly payments initially, but can result 
in negative amortization and/or higher monthly payments 

occurs when the loan payments during a period do not 
cover the interest accrued that over time, resulting in a 
higher principle balance than the amount of the  
original loan.  

Balloon (payment) Mortgage: Usually a short term 
fixed-rate loan that involves smaller payments for a 
certain period of time, and one large payment at the 
end of the term of the loan. 

Blanket Mortgage: One mortgage securing several 
pieces of real estate. 

Bridge Loan: A mortgage securing a piece of property 
which will be paid off upon securing a loan for an 
additional property. 

Conventional loan: A mortgage not insured by the 
Federal Housing Administration (FHA) or guaranteed by 
the Veterans Administration (VA). This mortgage is not a 
subprime loan. 

FHA Loan: A loan insured by the Federal Housing 
Administration, open to all qualified home purchasers, 
which requires a lower down payment – typically 3 
percent – than a conventional loan. This program 
allows buyers who might not otherwise qualify for a 
home loan to obtain one because the risk is removed 
from the lender by FHA insurance. While there are 
limits on the amount of an FHA loan, they are typically 
generous enough to handle moderately priced homes 
almost anywhere in the country. 

Interest Only Mortgage: A mortgage in which the 
borrower pays only interest on the principal of the loan 
for a set period of time, followed by a larger payment 
period that includes interest and principal payment, or 
a balloon payment.

Reverse Mortgage: A special type of home loan that 
lets a homeowner convert a portion of the equity in 
their home to cash. According to the Federal Trade 
Commission, there are three types of reverse mortgages: 

 
state and local government agencies and nonprofit  
organizations.

 
Home Equity Conversion Mortgages (HECMs) and  
backed by the U. S. Department of Housing and  
Urban Development (HUD).

 
are backed by the companies that develop them.

Unlike a traditional mortgage loan, no repayment is 
required until the borrower no longer occupies the 
home as their principal residence.  Borrowers must, in 
government-backed reverse mortgage products, be 

and receive a certificate to verify they understand the 
loan terms.  

Subprime Lender/Loans: A lender that provides credit 
to borrowers who do not meet prime underwriting 
guidelines and often charges a finance rate that is 
higher than the “prime” or normal rate offered to 
borrowers with good credit. Typically, it’s a lender that 
approves loans for individuals who may have poor 

Be Sure to Obtain and Compare the Following 
Information from Each Lender and Mortgage Broker: 

Rates 

interest rates and whether the rates being quoted are  
the lowest for that day or week.  

mind that when interest rates for adjustable rate loans  
go up, generally so does the monthly payment.  

how your rate and loan payment will vary, including  
whether your loan payment will be reduced when   
rates go down.  

 

six months, or annually) and how much it can change  
at each adjustment (yearly caps, lifetime caps). 

Points 

Points are any fees that the borrower pays that are based 
on a percentage of the loan amount.  

Discount points are fees paid to the lender to reduce 
the interest rate on the loan. Ask to see exactly how 
much your rate will be dropped based on the amount 
of discount points you pay. For example, paying 0.50 
percent of the loan amount in discount points may adjust 
the loan rate downwards by 0.25 percent.  Each program 
and lender will use a different formula and the amounts of 
points will change daily as market rates change. 

compare your short-term needs against your long-term 
needs. Here is an example based on $100,000, 30 year 

WITH NO 
DISCOUNT 

POINTS

WITH 
DISCOUNT 

POINTS

$ Amount of Points $0 $250
Intrest Rate

Monthly Payment

a month in your payment. Only you can determine if this 
is a beneficial trade off for you. Ask yourself whether you 
can afford the extra cash upfront right now and then note 
the following: 

 

month you keep the loan after this point you will be   

months this equates to $5,504. 

2. Over the life of the loan, this $250 investment also   
 

 
  sections for information about current rates  
  and points.  

 
  amount – rather than just as the number of points or  
  percentage – so that you will actually know how   
  much you will have to pay. 

TIP: Ask about the loan’s APR. The APR takes into 
account not only the interest rate but also points, 
broker fees, and certain other charges that you may 
be required to pay,  and is expressed as a yearly 
percentage rate. This will specifically tell you the 
cost of what you’re borrowing and will allow you to 
compare the costs of one loan to another. 
TIP: Document everything in writing. A daily journal 
of all conversations can be a powerful tool in 
resolving conflicts later. 
TIP:
on any detail or feature of the loan. You have a right 
to receive commitments in writing and professionals 
involved should never hesitate to provide this. If your 
loan originator is unwilling to put promises in writing.
You should not rely on verbal promises.

credit history or no credit history, or who have other 
characteristics that justify a higher rate. Keep in mind: 
because you’re approved for a subprime loan doesn’t 
mean that you cannot qualify for a prime rate loan from 
another lender. Be sure to explore your options. 

VA Loan: Loans made to veterans that are guaranteed 
by the Department of Veterans Affairs;

Understanding Your Costs 
Down payments, rates, points, and fees can make a loan 
that looks good at first glance change into something else 
once all the facts are known. Knowing the amount of the 
monthly payment and the interest rate is not enough. Be 
sure to get information about potential loans from several 
lenders or mortgage brokers and find out all of the costs 
involved with a loan. When comparing loans, make 
sure you’re reviewing the same information in each loan 
such as loan amount, loan term, type of loan, monthly 
payment, penalties and features and annual percentage 
rate (APR). 



GUIDE TO HOME LOANS GUIDE TO HOME LOANS

TIP:
directly charge you any discount points because they 
don’t set the rate. 

Fees 

A home loan often involves many fees, such as loan 
origination fees, underwriting fees, broker fees, 
transaction, settlement, and third party costs. Every lender 
or broker must give you an estimate of its fees when 
you apply for a mortgage loan. Many of these fees are 
negotiable. Some fees are paid when you apply for a 
loan (such as application and appraisal fees), and others 
are paid at closing. In some cases, you can borrow 
the money needed to pay these fees, but doing so will 

loans are sometimes available, but they usually involve 
higher rates. 

 the fee. Several items may be lumped into one fee. 

 understand. Some common fees associated with a 
 home loan closing are listed on the Mortgage   
 Shopping Worksheet (at the back of this workbook). 

 actual cost of service. Ask to see invoices if you feel   
 you’re paying too much. 

Down Payments and Private Mortgage Insurance 

Some lenders require 20 percent of the home’s purchase 
price or value as a down payment or equity in the loan. 
This requirement is known as the Loan to Value or LTV. A 

percent LTV. Your lender will tell you their LTV requirements 
for each type of loan.

Most lenders offer loans that require less than 20 percent 
down — sometimes as little as 0 percent on conventional 
loans. If a 20 percent down payment is not made, 
lenders usually require the borrower to purchase private 
mortgage insurance (PMI) to protect the lender in case 
the borrower fails to pay. When government-assisted 
programs such as FHA (Federal Housing Administration), 
VA (Veterans Administration), or Rural Development 
Services are available, the down payment requirements 
may be substantially smaller.

 
 what you need to do to verify that funds for your   
 down payment are available.  

 
 may offer. 

If PMI is Required for Your Loan: 

 

    including the PMI premium.  

    how it can be removed. 

Taxes and Insurance 

Many lenders will require your monthly loan payment 
to include an additional amount to cover annual real 
estate taxes and homeowner’s insurance. The amount is 
deposited into an account commonly called a reserve or 
escrow account. 

Be sure to ask if taxes and insurance payments are 
required to be escrowed to the lender or are optional. 
Typically, lenders will require monthly real estate taxes 
and homeowner insurance premiums to be escrowed if 

When comparing monthly payments from various lenders, 
be sure to ask if the lender included monthly taxes and 
insurance costs in the total payment. If it’s included, ask 
for the costs to be broken down in the following manner:
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SECTION 2

CREATING A SOLID STRUCTURE 

We’ve talked about how to build a strong foundation. In 
this section, we will cover the necessary resources that will 
make your journey more pleasant and free of obstacles. 

When buying a home or refinancing a loan remember to 
shop around, compare costs and terms, and negotiate for 
the best deal. 

Shop 
The newspaper and the Internet are good places to 
start shopping for a loan. Look for information on interest 
rates and points from several lenders or brokers. Since 
rates and points can change daily, you’ll want to check 
the local business section of the newspaper and various 
financial Web sites often when shopping for a home loan. 

TIP: The promotional advertising may not list the fees 
associated with the loan, so be sure to ask the lenders 
about fees. 
TIP: Beware of some advertisements that may be 
formatted to look like a news article, rather than an 
advertisement. 

The Mortgage Shopping Worksheet 

This worksheet, at right on page 9, is also available by 
visiting DFI’s Web site. Please take it with you when you 
speak to each lender or broker and be sure to write down 
all the information you obtain. Don’t be afraid to make 
lenders and brokers compete with each other for your 
business by letting them know that you’re shopping around.

Loan Pre-Qualification vs. Loan Approval 

Loan pre-qualification is a best guess at your housing 
and loan affordability. Pre-qualification is typically based 
upon a verbal conversation between potential borrowers 
and a lender and doesn’t include formal underwriting or 
supporting documentation. A loan pre-qualification is not 
a commitment to lend.

Loan approval comes after a formal underwriting of a 
borrower’s loan request. Loan approval is achieved with 
a complete mortgage loan application and typically 
includes these basic documents: 

 identification of all employment sources.  

 schedules and attachments such as W-2’s, 1099’s   
 

 and retirement statements.  

 owed to all creditors.  
 

 
 in employment history; and bankruptcy. 

 two years to include names and phone numbers  
 of landlords. 

TIP: It’s important not to make any changes to 
your financial condition during the loan process, 
including any major asset purchases, any new debts 
or changes in your employment. This will affect your 
approval rating. 

Compare 

Using the APR (annual percentage rate): 

The APR, which takes into account the interest rate,  
points, broker fees, and certain charges that you may be 
required to pay, and is expressed as a yearly percentage 
rate, will allow you to compare similar loans (e.g. fixed 
to fixed, ARM to ARM) from the same or different lenders 
without analyzing fee and rate information. The APR is an 
interest rate that shows the true interest rate you will pay 
over the life of the loan, factoring in certain closing costs. 
Here is an example:

Assume that you’re comparing two, fixed rate  
30-year mortgages for $100,000 with different 
interest rates and different amounts of lender fees: 

LOAN #1 LOAN #2

Intrest Rate
Prepaid Finance Charges* $3,000 $2,500

APR 6.29% 6.49%

* Prepaid finance charges include a variety of costs to close 
the loan such as: lender fees, broker fees, interim interest, 
and escrow fees. 

In this example, you only need the APR to determine that 
Loan #1 is the most cost effective loan offered. When 
comparing loans and lenders, your lender or broker 
should provide you with the APR on any loan discussed. 
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Calculators 

Mortgage calculators are available online from a number 
of resources to help you compare and provide you with 
different scenarios that best fit your needs. 

Questions to Ask Your Broker or Lender: 

When Shopping for a Loan, You Should Ask:

total of all fees including the lender fees, third-party   
fees and transaction fees?  

rate stays the same for the life of the loan, while an   
adjustable rate may change.)  

Premium, how much it is, and who will receive it. 
 

is refundable?  

homeowners and mortgage insurance? 

When You Apply For Your Loan Ask: 

available? What are the fees?  

if interest rates drop before closing? 
 

 

and how many years are they in effect?  
 

homeowners and mortgage insurance?  

and a copy of the federal booklet on settlement  
costs? Insist that you get a copy of this document  
within 3 days of your loan application. 

If the Loan is An Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM): 

 
stay in effect?  

that payment stay in effect? 
 

well as over the life of the loan?  

without doing a new loan? 

it apply?

A Few Things to Remember
1 . When you apply for a mortgage loan, every piece   

of information that you submit must be accurate and  
complete. Lying on a mortgage application is fraud and 
may result in criminal penalties. Don’t let anyone 
persuade you to make a false statement on your loan 
application, such as overstating your income or the 
value of the home, the source of your down payment, 
failing to disclose the nature and amount of your debts, 
or even how long you’ve been employed. 

2. It’s wise to ask to review your documents; request your  
loan documents one day before closing and have them  
reviewed by someone you trust or who is skilled in real  
estate law. 

containing blanks. If someone else inserts information   
after you’ve signed, you may still be bound to the terms  

 
through any blanks. 

4. Read everything carefully and ask questions. Don’t  
 

anyone pressure you into signing before you’ve read  
everything completely. 

5. Don’t let anyone convince you to borrow more money  
than you know you can afford to repay. If you get  
behind on your payments, you risk a potential negative  
impact on your credit score, and losing your house and  
all of the money you’ve put into the property.

 
should know that the broker has a fiduciary relationship  
with the borrower. This means that, by law, the broker  
must act in the borrower’s best interest and in the  
utmost good faith toward the borrower, and shall  
disclose any and all business relationships to the  
borrower including, but not limited to, relationships with  
the lender who is underwriting your loan. Also, a broker 
may not accept, provide, or charge any undisclosed  
compensation to another party involved in the  
loan transaction.
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in until months after you’ve begun to pay on your 
loan. Scrutinize your documents closely and make 
sure the loan you sign is the loan you agreed to. 

Loan Flipping: A lender refinances your loan more  
than once with a new long-term, high cost loan. Each  
time the lender “flips” the existing loan, you must pay  
points and assorted fees. 

Packing: You receive a loan that contains charges 
for services you did not request or need. “Packing” 
most often involves making the borrower believe that 
credit insurance or some other costly product must 
be purchased and financed into the loan in order 
to qualify. Sometimes the costs of these services may 
simply be hidden altogether. 

Hidden Balloon Payments: You believe that you’ve
applied for a low rate loan requiring low monthly 
payments only to learn at closing that it’s a short-term 
loan that you will have to refinance within a few years. 

Hiding or Lying About Pre-Payment Penalties:You  
are led to believe that there will be no penalty if you 
decide to pay your loan off early. 

Home Improvement Scams: A contractor talks you
into costly or unnecessary repairs, steers you to 
a high-cost mortgage lender to finance the job, and 
arranges for the loan proceeds to be sent directly 
to the contractor. In some cases, the contractor 
performs shoddy or incomplete work, and the 
homeowner is stuck paying off a long-term loan 
where the house is at risk. 

Monthly Payment Scams: Don’t be tricked by
deceptive payment comparisons. Be particularly 
aware when comparing the new monthly payment to 
your existing monthly payment. Does the new 
payment contain amounts for taxes and insurance? If 
not, it may not be a better loan. Ask that the full 
payment amount be clearly expressed in writing. 

Piggy Back Second Loans: Be very aware of
additional loans offered or “snuck” into your loan  
transaction at the time of closing. If you did not ask  
for a second mortgage, home equity line of credit  
or credit card secured by your home, one shouldn’t  
be included in your closing papers. 

As with any loan opportunity you’re considering, 
contact the Washington State Department of Financial 
Institutions (DFI) to ensure you’re working with a  
licensed professional.

SECTION 3 

WINDOW SHOPPING – BECOMING 
A SAVVY BORROWER 

Every year misinformed consumers become victims of 
predatory lending or loan fraud. Don’t let this happen to 
you! In this section we will warn you about the common 
financial pitfalls, how to avoid them and provide you with 
some alternatives. 

Avoiding Financial Pitfalls
When you buy a house, you enter into a long-term 
financial obligation. You fill out papers and sign legal 
documents based on those papers. It’s important that you 
understand your responsibilities so that you won’t be a 
victim or a participant in fraud. 

When you apply for a mortgage loan, every piece of 
information you submit must be accurate and complete. 
Anything less is considered loan fraud. 

Unfortunately, there are people who may try to convince 
you to lie about your qualifications so they can illegally 
make money at your expense. These people will appear 
to be your friends, saying they’re trying to help you. They 
may downplay or deny the importance of complying 
with the law and suggest that it’s all just “red tape” that 
everyone ignores. Don’t allow yourself to be fooled. 

BE SMART 

understand it. 
 

your assets, and your debts.  
 

law and you have the right to know. 

BE HONEST 

 
 

 
 

and present.  
 

DON’T BE DISCOURAGED 

If your loan application is rejected, find out what the 
problem is and how it can be resolved. Maybe you need 
to look for a less expensive house, or save more money. 
Check to see if there is more affordable housing or 
community programs you might be eligible for to help you 
through your home buying process. 

Predatory Lending 
Your best defense against illegal or unethical practices is 
to be informed. 

A predatory loan is a dishonest loan. Predatory lenders 
offer easy access to money, but often use high-pressure 
sales tactics, inflated interest rates, outrageous fees, 
unaffordable repayment terms, and harassing collection 
tactics. Predatory lenders target those who have limited 
access to mainstream sources of credit. The elderly, 
military personnel and homeowners in low-income 
neighborhoods are often victims of predatory lending. But 
anyone can be a victim of a predator.

How to Avoid a Predatory Loan: 

Finding the best loan is no different than making any 
other purchase. Be a smart shopper! Talk with a number 
of different lenders. Compare their offers. Ask questions 
and don’t let anyone pressure you into making a deal 
that you don’t feel comfortable with. If you don’t agree 
with the terms of the offer you always have the right to 
walk away. Ask questions until you understand the loan 
terms – even if you feel embarrassed for not knowing 
the answer.

TIP: In a refinance loan or second mortgage you 
have the right to cancel the loan. This is known as the 
Right of Rescission. The lender must allow you three 
days after the closing of your loan to change your 
mind. Use that three days wisely – if the loan is not for 
you, cancel it. 

Common Predatory Lending Practices: 

 The lender makes a loan based   
upon the equity in your home, whether or not you can  
make the payments. If you cannot make payments,   
you could lose your home through foreclosure. 

 Bait-and-switch schemes: The lender may promise
one type of loan, interest rate, or costs, but switch   
you to something different at closing. Sometimes a   
higher (and unaffordable) interest rate doesn’t kick 
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SECTION 4 

KNOW YOUR RIGHTS 

Before signing any document or paying any money, you 
should carefully examine your requirements, resources 
available and the need for professional help. In this 
section we will provide you with a listing of current 
laws regulating the mortgage industry. It’s always 
recommended that you contact an attorney for any legal 
advice. 

It’s The Law: Know Your Rights!

If A Loan: 

 
 

at or after closing,

Contact the Washington State Department of Financial 
Institutions. 

Primary Laws Regulating the Mortgage Industry 

Federal Laws: 

Equal Credit Opportunity Act (ECOA) Prohibits   
discrimination in lending. ECOA prohibits any creditor  
from discriminating against an applicant with respect  
to any aspect of a credit transaction based on sex,   
race, color, religion, national origin, disability or   
parental status. 

Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) Stipulates the   
requirements of users of credit reports and disclosure  
to consumers. 

Fair Housing Act Provides protection against   
housing-related discriminatory practices based on   
sex, race, color, religion, national origin, disability or  
parental status. 

Home Ownership and Equity Protection Act   
(HOEPA) Requires additional disclosures for certain   
types of high cost loans. 

Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA)  
Prohibits cost increasing abusive practices such as   
kickbacks and referral fees, and requires advance   
disclosure of settlement service costs through the use  
of a Good Faith Estimate (GFE), which is a good faith 
estimate of service costs associated with the   
mortgage loan. Also requires the use of a Uniform 

Settlement Statement (“HUD-1”) that shows every   
cost the borrower will pay in conjunction with   
receiving the loan.

Truth-in-Lending Act (TILA)  Requires disclosure   
of the cost of credit to the consumer and the terms of  
repayment. 

Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage   
Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) Establishes a 

 
residential mortgage loan originators to be licensed.

WA State Laws: 

 Mortgage Brokers Practices Act (RCW 19.146) 
is designed to promote honest and fair dealings and  
to preserve public confidence in the lending industry  
by preventing fraudulent practices by mortgage   
brokers and loan originators. 

The Consumer Loan Act (RCW 31.04) authorizes   
higher interest rates to ensure credit availability   
to borrowers with higher than average credit risks   
that might otherwise be unable to obtain loans. 

The Consumer Protection Act (CPA) prohibits
unfair and deceptive acts or practices in trade or   
commerce.

Escrow Agent Registration Act (EARA) requires   
strict handling of closing documents and the funds   
necessary for closing your loan. 

Residential Mortgage Loan Disclosure 
 (RCW 9.144.020) requires that borrowers are   
 provided with a one page summary of all material   
 terms of the loan.

The Regulatory Agencies: 
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SECTION 5 

FINAL WALKTHROUGH

Understanding disclosures during the home loan process 
is one area where consumers have the most questions. In 
this section, the most important aspects of the four main 
disclosures that you will be receiving during this process 
are reviewed.

Take the time to understand what you’re committing 
to before signing the loan papers. Be sure to ask your 
mortgage broker to explain anything that might seem 
confusing or unclear.  The mortgage broker now has a 
“fiduciary responsibility” to protect your interests and 
advocate on your behalf.  Don’t hesitate to ask their 
opinion about anything regarding the loan process.

At the beginning of the loan application process, within 
three days of your application, the lender or broker is 
required to provide you with an:

 
 

Then, as the closing date approaches, or sooner if any 
of the terms of the loan change, you will receive:

 
 

 

The remainder of this section will be devoted to illustrating 
and explaining these important documents.
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GOOD FAITH ESTIMATE (GFE)

The Good Faith Estimate (GFE), shown at right, shows the 
interest rate, term, loan amount, and all settlement costs 
on a particular loan. A GFE is sectioned into a range of 

If you’re using a GFE to compare lenders and brokers, 

this section are charged by third parties such as (but not 
limited to) appraisal, credit report, inspection, assumption, 
tax service and flood certification. These fees should 
be passed on to the borrower without any markup. A 
lender has complete control over fees such as origination 
and discount points, processing, underwriting and 
administrative fees.  If this fee is higher then you were  
first quoted, find out why and negotiate a better fee  
if possible. 

Items in the 900 and 1000 range list interest, taxes and 
premiums for mortgage, flood and hazard insurance. 
These items will vary depending on your closing date and 
are not negotiable. If you close in the beginning of the 
month, you will be prepay more interest than if you were 
to close at the end of the month. These items must be paid 
upfront or deposited into an Escrow account. 

The 1100 section lists the Title and Escrow charges. Your 
Escrow fees may be negotiable if you plan early with 
the lender to know who was selected as your settlement 
agent. Once you know this information, you can contact 
the settlement agent and negotiate your closing fees. In 
any case, it is still a good idea to ask for lower fees. 

And finally, the 1200 and 1300 section consist of your 
government fees such as the city and county tax stamps, 
recording fees and pest inspections.

TIP: Sometimes the fees listed on the Good Faith 
Estimate can change before closing.  
Some reasons include:

 your loan application to a different lender, either  
 to get a better rate or because the underwriter at  
 the first lender didn’t approve your loan. Different  
 lenders have different fees. 

 lender, some lenders charge a fee for that.  

 different loan amount.  
 

 than estimated.  
 

 insurance company, policy, or deductible amount.

On the GFE you will notice some letters at the end of line 

Charge. These are the charges that are associated with 
calculating APR (see the Truth in Lending for more info 
on the APR). S means Seller Paid. These are items that 
the seller will be paying at closing. The F means FHA 
allowable. These items are permitted by FHA. Lastly the 
POC stands for Paid Outside of Close. This means that 
these items will be paid for, generally, before close. Some 
common items that are paid outside of close would be 
appraisal fees, homeowner’s insurance premiums and 
homeowner’s association dues. On some GFE’s these 
letters may simply be filled in after the dollar amounts of 
each fee. 

Have each mortgage professional go over the Good Faith 
Estimates with you. Compare the items line by line. If you 
notice the cost of any item on a GFE significantly higher or 
lower than that of the same item on other GFE’s, ask the 
loan originator to explain the difference. Some dishonest 
loan originators might “low ball” their settlement costs to 
gain your business. 

State and Federal law requires lenders and brokers to 
provide a written good faith estimate within three days 
after taking an application from a borrower.
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The Truth-In-Lending (TIL) Disclosure Statement is shown at 
right.  The purpose of the TIL is to show you the estimated 
total costs of borrowing, the expected payment amounts 
over the life of the loan, whether the loan has a  
pre-payment penalty, and other significant features of 
your loan. 

Now Let’s Look at Some of Key Sections of the Truth 
In Lending Disclosure Statement: 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR)
The APR is the annual cost of the loan in percentage 
terms that take into account various charges paid by the 
borrower wherein interest on the loan is only a part  
of the charges. 

The purpose of an APR is to allow you to quickly compare 
the total costs between competing loans without having to 
analyze all of the individual costs within each loan. 

For Example: 

seems to have a higher cost however, because the APR 
is lower it will provide a lower total cost to you in the 
long run. Comparing APR’s on loans is a quick way to 
determine the cost of each loan.  

Finance Charge
This is the sum of the lender charges that are incurred at 
the time the loan is written.  The greater these charges, 
the higher the APR on the loan.

Amount Financed  
This is the amount provided to the borrower or used on 
the borrower’s behalf.  This is the principal loan amount 
less the prepaid finance charges.

Total of Payments 
Total of payments to be made toward principal, interest, 
prepaid finance charges, and mortgage insurance 
(if applicable), over the life of the loan.  The total of 
payments in the payment schedule will also equal  
this amount.

Payment Schedule 
This is the break down of the number and amounts of 
payments that will be due under the stated conditions of 
the loan at the time the loan is made. 

Variable Rate Feature
A loan with a variable rate feature, also known as an 
Adjustable Rate Mortgage (ARM), will have payment 
adjustments that will occur per the terms agreed on in  
the note. 

Insurance
The insurance section will identify any insurance required 
(home owner property insurance or flood insurance) or 
any credit life and credit disability insurance the borrower 
has indicated a desire to purchase.  Credit life and credit 
disability are an additional cost to the borrower and 
cannot ever be a requirement for obtaining a loan.

Prepayment 
The prepayment section indicates if the borrower has to 
pay or does not have to pay a penalty for paying off the 
principal balance of the loan prior to a stated period of 
time in the note agreement.  This section also identifies if 
the borrower will receive a refund of any of the finance 
charges if the loan is paid off early.

TRUTH-IN-LENDING DISCLOSURE (TIL)
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The Washington State Disclosure Summary is shown at 
right. This document is required by law in Washington 
when purchasing a new home with a residential 
mortgage loan. This form brings together information from 
the Good Faith Estimate (GFE) and the Truth in Lending 
(TIL) documents.  Your lender or broker is required to 
provide you a copy of this disclosure within three days of 

“significant changes” a revised copy needs to be provide 
to you.)

The one page disclosure summary may be arranged 
differently from the example to the right, but must contain 
the same elements in such a way that is easy to read  
and understand.  

First make sure you have the right disclosure. There is one 
for fixed rate loans and one for adjustable rate loans.  
Your name and property address should be at the top of 
the form, and below this should be the terms of your loan.  
This section must include the length of the loan in years, 
the loan amount, the interest rate and payment amount.  

Monthly reserves are items added to your monthly 
payment which your lender holds in a separate account, 
an escrow account, to pay items such as real estate 
taxes, homeowners insurance, mortgage insurance, and/
or homeowner’s association dues. The form should reflect 
which ones are included and which ones are not.

Tip:
escrow account. You may have to pay them on  
your own.

All fees charged by the lender or broker must be on 
this form and should match the fees of the same name 

Underwriting, processing and other fees paid to the 
lender will be disclosed as “Other Fees.”  Fees paid for 
services other than to the lender or the broker, such as 
appraisal or inspection fees, will not be included in this 
figure.

The disclosure also must tell you if there is prepayment 
penalty, a lump sum balloon payment due at the end, if 
your interest rate is locked, whether your rate or fees are 
higher due to reduced documentation and if your broker 
is receiving a YSP.

WASHINGTON STATE DISCLOSURE SUMMARY

If any of the information on this page has  
“Significant Changes” then redisclosure is required. 
“Significant Changes” include a change in: 

 
 

included in the loan payment. 
 

reduced documentation. 

percent or more. 

eighth of one percent. 

adjustable to fixed. 

dollars or more.

If you need help understanding your loan contact DFI at 
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Page 1 of the HUD-1 Settlement Statement is shown 
at right.  This statement is like a receipt for your home 
purchase or refinance.  It shows you what you bought, 
and who you bought it from.  Typically, the closing 
agent gathers the pertinent information, completes the 
Settlement Statement and disperses the required funds 
once the buyer and seller have certified the accuracy of 
the statement by signing it.  The Settlement Statement has 
the same numbering system as your Good Faith Estimate 
to keep it uniform and easy to understand.  

TIP:  It’s very important that you verify all the loan 

loan origination fee or other broker/lender fee has 
increased from the final Good Faith Estimate, find out 
why it was not disclosed to you until closing day.  

The first page of the Settlement sheet is broken down into 
a summary of the borrower’s (buyer) transaction on the 
left side and a summary of the seller’s transaction on the 
right.  The second page is divided into those costs that 
are “paid from borrower’s funds at settlement” and those 
costs that are “paid from seller’s funds at settlement”.  If 
buyer, seller, and title agent agree that the statement is 
true and accurate, all parties sign and date the sheet 
toward the bottom of page two.  

The following key sections of the HUD-1, shown at right, 
should be thoroughly reviewed by you prior to signing 
any paperwork at closing:

Borrower’s/Seller’s Transaction:

Line 101 – Lists the contract price as stated in the 
Purchase and Sale Agreement.

Line 103 – Total settlement charges to the borrowers; 
this is obtained from adding up all of the costs on the 
second page and is shown as a subtotal on Line 1400.

Line 120 – This is the total amount due from the 
borrower inclusive of the contract price, costs listed on 
page two of the sheet and adjustments for taxes and 
other items pad by seller in advance.

Line 220 – States the total amount paid by or for 
borrowers including deposit monies, principal loans(s) 
and Seller Assistance.

HUD-1 SETTLEMENT STATEMENT

Line 303 – The figure here is the total amount of funds 
(in cash or certified check) that borrower needs to bring 
to settlement in order to close the transaction. If your 
transaction is a refinance to get cash out, you will find 
the amount you are to receive here.
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How to Compare the GFE to the HUD-1
The line items on the GFE can be compared to the line 

the same comparison for each item on the two forms. 

LINE NO. FEE GFE AMOUNT HUD-
1AMOUNT

Loan 
origination $2,000.00 $2,500.00

902
Mortgage 
Insurance 
Premium

$1,000.00 $1,000.00

1101 Settlement $300.00 $300.00

1201 Recording $25.00 $25.00

1302 Pest 
Inspection $200.00 $200.00

origination fee is $2,000. However the HUD-1 Settlement 
Statement lists $2,500 – a difference of $500! You have 
the right to know why you are being asked to pay $500 
more than what you were initially quoted. Insist on an 
explanation as to the difference. You are never required 
to accept a loan that is different from what you expected. 
There should be no surprises at this late date. If the fees 
are substantially different, don’t sign any documents 
unless you agree with the new terms. 

PAGE 2 OF THE HUD-1 SETTLEMENT 
STATEMENT IS SHOWN AT RIGHT.  

agent or broker.  

such as origination fees, appraisal fee, credit report fee, 
various lender and broker fees, administration fees, and 
flood certification fee are listed.  

Lines 901 – 905 – Any amounts that are required by the 
lender to be paid in advance, such as daily interest, are 
set forth here.  For example, if Buyer settles on May 20, 

Lines 1001-1009 – All reserves that the lender requires 
to be set aside in an escrow account such as hazard 
insurance, county taxes, and school taxes are set forth.

Lines 1101 – 1113 – Includes all charges associated with 
the Buyer’s title insurance such as the insurance premium 
and overnight wire fee.

Lines 1201 – 1203 – Details the recording fees charged 
by the county to record the deed and mortgage and 
sets forth the proportionate share of the real estate 
transfer taxes for Buyer and Seller.

Adjustments to Costs Shared By Buyer and Seller
At settlement it is usually necessary to make an adjustment 
between buyer and seller for property taxes and other 
expenses.  The adjustments between buyer and seller 
are shown on the left and right side of page 1 on the 
Settlement Statement.

Similar adjustments are made for homeowner’s 
association dues, special assessments, and utilities.  Be 
sure you work out these cost sharing arrangements or 
“pro-rations” with the seller and settlement agent before 
the actual day of settlement.  Typically these fees are 
agreed upon in writing through the negotiation of your 
Purchase & Sales Agreement.
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FINAL CONSIDERATIONS

The decisions you make at closing may be with you for the 
life of the loan. Even at this late date you can negotiate 
terms or seek advice from your realtor, an attorney or your 
local housing authority in making a final decision. The 
bottom line is the final decision lies with you. 

Here are several things to consider before your 
signing day. 

Before Signing Day: 

 
completed documents – such as the settlement   

 
Addendums and Riders – at least one day before 
your appointment to sign your loan. 

trusted family member or friend to review all  
documents. Make sure that you understand all the   
terms of the loan. 

 
rate correct? 

taxes and insurance?  

years? or even 40 years or longer? 
 

payment? If you are unsure of the impact of these   
features, contact a non-profit housing agency  
or a lawyer.  

should receive an ARM Disclosure or Rider. Review   
this document. Make sure you understand how   
often your rate can increase, how much your payment  
can increase, when the rate will go up, and what  
the maximum interest rate and the maximum monthly  
payments will be.  

charging anything other than a mortgage broker fee?  
For example, are they also charging a processing fee,  
an underwriting fee, or some other kind of fee of   
which you were unaware?  

Premiums are fees that lenders pay to mortgage  
brokers when they sell you a higher interest rate. If   
you see a YSP on your HUD-1 settlement statement,  
you may not be receiving the lowest interest rate that  
was available to you or you may be paying the  
broker more than you agreed. You ultimately are  
paying for that YSP through your interest rate. Be sure  
to ask your escrow agent even if you don’t see one.

TIP: Be sure to request a copy of your property 
appraisal from your broker, federal law gives you a 
right to receive a copy.
All these documents plus others you received at 
closing make up your personal loan file. 
Keep these together with all other items relating to 
your home in a safe place. 

Before you Leave the Closing, Be Sure You Receive 
Copies of: 

 
 

 
 

If you’re refinancing or getting an equity line of credit, you 
have three days to change your mind after you sign the 
loan documents. If you decide you don’t want the loan 
within this 3-day “rescission” period, you can simply walk 
away with a written notification. Provide a signed copy 

document among your closing papers. If you do rescind 
the loan, the lender must give you back any money you 
paid out in the transaction, even money you paid to  
other parties. 

Within one-week of signing your loan documents, you 
should receive a final HUD-1 settlement statement in the 
mail. If you don’t receive this information, contact your 
escrow agent immediately. This document is your official 
accounting of all money paid. Review this final statement 
closely and make sure nothing has changed. 

Closing Costs
Closing costs are all the different charges that you’ll be 
required to pay at or before the closing. They include 
charges related to the purchase of your home, and 
charges related to getting a mortgage. Depending on 
the specific circumstances of your particular loan, closing 
costs typically run between three and five percent of the 
loan amount. 

Charges by the Lender May Include: 

 
 

Charges Collected by the Title Company or 
Settlement Agent Include: 

 
 
 

 

close your loan. In a purchase, some of these costs   
may be shared with the seller. 

There may be other charges for services provided by 
either your lender or the closing company. Your lender or 
mortgage broker can give you more specific information 
on these costs. Remember, when you budget for your 
purchase, you should include the prepaid and financed 
closing costs, in addition to the purchase price, so that 
you can be sure that you can afford the house. 

TIP: To decrease the amount of money you’ll need to 
pay at closing, ask to schedule the closing at the end 
of the month. 
For example: If you close on January 31st, your first 
payment will still be March 1st, but you’ll only need to 
pay the interest for that one day at the time of closing. 
Your first payment will only be a month and a day 
away, instead of almost two months away, but you’ll 
need less money at the closing.
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SECTION 6 

WELCOME HOME 

it’s time to welcome your family and prepare for the house 
warming party. 

Protecting Your Home Investment 
1 . Limit your use of consumer credit cards. Avoid high cost  

purchases. Live within your means.

2.  If you fall into debt, talk to a mortgage counselor   
before you apply for a loan. Avoid adding credit card  
debt to your mortgage.

3.  Think twice about including a car payment in a  
mortgage refinance. Do you want to make payments  
on your car over 30 years?

4.  Considering life insurance? Talk to a financial planner.  
Mortgage Life Insurance products pay your lender but  
your loved ones don’t receive a penny

5.  Thinking about refinancing? Don’t just look at your  
loan payments – look at the life of your loan. For  
example, refinancing with another 30-year mortgage  
may lower your monthly payment but it also means  
another 30 years of payments. Perhaps a 15-year loan  
would best meet your needs. 

 
be bombarded with credit offers. Choose your credit  
accounts wisely. Always read the fine print. There is  
no free money – just clever advertising. 

 
replacement. Consult an insurance specialist about  
coverage for your home’s contents, replacement costs,  
and liability insurance. 

Preventing Foreclosure 
If you fall behind in your monthly house payments, the 
seller or lender may try to take the house back. This is 
generally called foreclosure. If a house is foreclosed, you 
may lose not only your house, but also all of the money 
you’ve invested. A foreclosure or a deficiency judgment 
could seriously affect your ability to qualify for credit in 
the future. Avoid this if at all possible. 

Ways That You Can PREVENT Foreclosure:

  Early intervention is the key! If you’re having trouble  
making your monthly mortgage payments, contact   
your lender immediately. Don’t wait!  

  Don’t ignore letters from your lender. 
  Clearly explain your situation. Write down who you 
spoke to, the date, and what was said.  

  Be prepared to provide your lender with your current 
financial information, such as your monthly income  
and expenses.  

  You can stop the foreclosure by making up any 
delinquent payments plus any costs related to  
the foreclosure.  

  Remember to use registered or certified mail in all 
your correspondence on legal matters. 

What Are Your Alternatives? 

Special Forbearance. Your lender may be able to 
arrange a repayment plan that would be based  
upon your current financial situation and may even  
provide for a temporary reduction or suspension of  
your payments. You may qualify for this if you’ve  
recently experienced an involuntary reduction in  
income or an increase in living expenses. 

Mortgage Modification. You may be able to   
refinance the debt and extend the term of your  
mortgage loan. This will help you catch up by  
possibly reducing the monthly payments to a more  
affordable level. You may qualify if you’ve recovered  
from a financial problem but your net income is less  
than it was before the default. 

Partial Claim. Your lender may be able to work with 
you to obtain an interest-free FHA loan from HUD to  
bring your mortgage current, if you qualify. 

Pre-Foreclosure Sale. This will allow you to sell 
your property and pay off your mortgage loan to  
avoid foreclosure and damage to your credit rating.  
If you’re unable to afford the house long-term, you  
may sell the house yourself before the foreclosure sale  
and save some of your equity. 

Short Sale.  A sale in which the lender agrees to 
accept a sale price less than the outstanding balance  
of the loan.

Deed-in-lieu of Foreclosure. As a last resort, you 
may be able to voluntarily “give back” your property  
to the lender. This won’t save your house, but may  
help your chances of getting another mortgage loan  
in the future. 

TIP: If you’re a senior citizen or are disabled and 
are facing a foreclosure action because of unpaid 
property taxes or special assessments, you may 
be eligible to postpone payment of your property 
taxes or special assessments under two programs in 
Washington. Contact your local County Assessor’s 
Office or an attorney for more information. 
TIP: Lenders don’t have to accept all proposals and 
are not obligated to do so. So don’t wait till the last 
minute to contact your lender. 
TIP: If the lender refuses to take partial payments, you 
should put this money aside to help negotiate with the 
lender later. 
TIP: The foreclosure process will continue despite the 
possibility of a workout agreement. Therefore, you 
should not wait to hear back from the lender. You 
should contact the lender early and try and come up 
with a solution as soon as possible. 

How Do You Know If You Qualify For Any Of  
These Alternatives? 

Contact your local housing counseling agency for help in 
determining which, if any, of these options may meet your 
needs. You should also discuss the situation with  
your lender. 

Should You Be Aware Of Anything Else? 

Beware of scams! Solutions that sound too simple or too 
good to be true usually are. If you’re selling your home 
without professional guidance, beware of buyers who try 
to rush you through the process. Unfortunately, there are 
people who may try to take advantage of your financial 
difficulty. Be especially alert to the following: 

Equity skimming. This type of scam involves a 
“buyer” approaching you and offering to pay off  
your mortgage or give you a sum of money when the  
property is sold. The “buyer” may suggest that you  
move out quickly and deed the property to him or  
her. The “buyer” then collects rent for a time, doesn’t  
make any mortgage payments, and allows the lender  
to foreclose. Remember that signing over your deed  
to someone else doesn’t necessarily relieve you of  
your obligation on your loan. 

Phony Counseling Agencies. Some groups 
calling themselves “counseling agencies” may  
approach you and offer to perform certain services 
for a fee. These could well be services you could do 
for yourself, for free, such as negotiating a new 
payment plan with your lender, or pursuing a  
pre-foreclosure sale. If you have any doubt about  
paying for such services, call a HUD-approved   
housing counseling agency. Do this BEFORE you pay  
anyone or sign anything. 

Precautions You Can Take 

Take Precautions to Avoid Being “Taken” By  
a Scam Artist:

Don’t sign any papers you don’t fully understand. 
Make sure you get all the “promises” in writing. 
Signing over the deed to someone else doesn’t   
necessarily relieve you of your loan obligation. If your  
name is still included on the documents, you’re still  
liable for repaying the loan.  
Check with your lawyer or your mortgage company  
before entering into any deal involving your home.  
Check to see if there are any complaints against 
the prospective buyer if you’re selling your house. You  
can contact Washington State’s Attorney General’s  
Office or the Real Estate Commission for this type  
of information. 

Points You Should Remember 
Don’t damage your credit rating by losing your home. 
If you get behind on your payments, call or write your 
mortgage lender immediately.  
Stay in your home to make sure you qualify 
for assistance.  
Arrange an appointment with a housing counselor to 
explore your options.  
Cooperate with the counselor or lender trying to 
help you.  
Explore every alternative to losing your home. 
Beware of scams.
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SECTION 7

SECURING A LINE OF CREDIT AFTER PURCHASE 

Here is a heads up on what can be done after the 
purchase of your home relative to financing, refinancing, 
or obtaining an equity line of credit. It’s important for you 
to understand that your home investment can bear you 
fruits for a future expansion, remodel, a consolidation loan 
or long awaited vacation. Let’s see how it works: 

Is A Home Equity Credit Line for You? 

If you need to borrow money, home equity lines may be 
one useful source of credit. Initially, they may provide you 
with large amounts of cash at relatively low interest rates. 
And they may provide you with certain tax advantages 
unavailable with other kinds of loans. 

At the same time, home equity lines of credit require you 
to use your home as collateral for the loan. This may 
put your home at risk if you’re late or cannot make your 
monthly payments. Those loans with a large final payment 
may lead you to borrow more money to pay off this 
debt, or they may put your home in jeopardy if you can’t 
qualify for refinancing. And, if you sell your home, most 
plans require you to pay off your credit line at that time. 
In addition, because home equity loans give you relatively 
easy access to cash, you might find you borrow money 
too freely. 

How much money can you borrow on a home 
equity line of credit (HELOC)? Depending on your  
creditworthiness and the amount of your outstanding  
debt, home equity lenders may let you borrow up to  
100 percent of the appraised value of your home 
minus the amount you still owe on your first mortgage.  
Ask the lender about the length of the home  
equity loan, whether there is a minimum withdrawal  
requirement when you open your account, and  
whether there are minimum or maximum withdrawal  
requirements after your account is opened. Inquire  
how you can gain access to your credit line – with  
checks, credit cards, or both. 

Also, find out if your home equity plan sets a fixed time – 
a draw period – when you can make withdrawals from 
your account. Once the draw period expires, you may 
be able to renew your credit line. If you can’t, you won’t 
be permitted to borrow additional funds. Also, in some 
plans, you may have to pay your full outstanding balance. 
In others, you may be able to repay the balance over a 
fixed time. 

What safeguards are built into the loan? One of the 
best protections you have is the Federal Truth in   
Lending Act discussed earlier, which requires lenders  
to inform you about the terms and costs of the plan at  
the time you’re given an application. Lenders must   
disclose the APR and payment terms and must inform  
you of charges to open or use the account, such as  
an appraisal, a credit report, or attorneys’ fees.  
Lenders also must tell you about any variable rate  
feature and give you a brochure describing the   
general features of home equity plans. 

The Truth in Lending Act also protects you from changes in 
the terms of the account before the plan is opened. If you 
decide not to enter into the plan because of a change in 
terms, all fees you paid earlier must be returned to you. 

Because your home is at risk when you open a home 
equity credit account, you have three days after you 
receive the closing papers to cancel the transaction, 
for any reason. To cancel, you must inform the lender in 
writing. Upon timely cancellation, your credit line must be 
cancelled and all fees you’ve paid must be returned. 

Questions to Ask Before You Sign the Dotted Line: 

What is the interest rate on the HELOC?

What is the index and margin that affect the interest rate? 

What are the upfront closing costs? 
Is there an annual fee?
What are the repayment terms during the loan?

Home Improvement Loan 

Understanding Your Payment Options 

You have several payment options for most home 
improvement and maintenance and repair projects. For 
example, you can get your own loan or ask the contractor 
to arrange financing for larger projects. For smaller 
projects, you may want to pay by check or credit card. 
Avoid paying cash. Whatever option you choose, be 
sure you have a reasonable payment schedule and a fair 
interest rate. Here are some additional tips: 

Try to limit your down payment. Some state laws limit  
the amount of money a contractor can request as a   
down payment. 
Try to make payments during the project contingent 
upon satisfactory completion of a defined amount  
of work. This way, if the work is not proceeding  
according to schedule, the payment is also delayed.

Lien laws may allow subcontractors or suppliers to 
file a mechanic’s lien against your home to satisfy  
their unpaid bills. Don’t make the final payment or  
sign an affidavit of final release until you’re satisfied  
with the work and know that the subcontractors and  
suppliers have been paid.  
Some state or local laws limit the amount by which 
the final bill can exceed the estimate, unless you’ve  
approved the increase. 
If you have a problem with merchandise or services 
that you charged to a credit card, and you’ve made  
a good faith effort to work out the problem with the  
seller, you have the right to withhold payment for  
the merchandise or services. Contact your card issuer  
for details on how this service is administered. You 
may be able to withhold payment up to the amount  
of credit outstanding for the purchase, plus any  
finance or related charges. 

The “Home Improvement” Loan Scam 
A contractor calls or knocks on your door and offers 
to install a new roof or remodel your kitchen at a price 
that sounds reasonable. You tell him you’re interested, 
but can’t afford it. He tells you it’s no problem — he can 
arrange financing through a lender he knows. You agree 
to the project, and the contractor begins work. At some 
point after the contractor begins, you’re asked to sign a 
lot of papers. The papers may be blank or the lender may 
rush you to sign before you have had time to read what 
you have been given to sign. You sign the papers. Later, 
you realize that the papers you signed are a home equity 
loan. The interest rate, points and fees seem very high. To 
make matters worse, the work on your home isn’t done 
right or hasn’t been completed, and the contractor, who 
may have been paid by the lender, has little interest in 
completing the work to your satisfaction. 

You can protect yourself from inappropriate lending 
practices. Here’s how. 

Don’t: 

Agree to a home equity loan if you don’t have
enough money to make the monthly payments.  
Sign any document you haven’t read or any document
that has blank spaces to be filled in after you sign.  
Deed your property to anyone. First consult an 
attorney, a knowledgeable family member, or  
someone else that you trust.  

Agree to finance through your contractor without 
shopping around and comparing loan terms. 

Getting a Written Contract 
A contract spells out the “who, what, where, when” and 
cost of your project. The agreement should be clear, 
concise and complete. 

Before You Sign a Contract, Make Sure it Contains: 

The contractor’s name, address, phone, and 
license number. 
The payment schedule for the contractor, 
subcontractors and suppliers.  
An estimated start and completion date. 
The contractor’s obligation to obtain all necessary permits. 
How change orders will be handled. A change 
order – common on most remodeling jobs – is  
a written authorization to the contractor to make a  
change or addition to the work described in the  
original contract. It could affect the project’s cost and  
schedule. A remodel often requires payment for  
change orders before work begins.  
A detailed list of all materials including color, model, 
size, brand name, and product.  
Warranties covering materials and workmanship. 
The names and addresses of the parties honoring  
the warranties – contractor, distributor or manufacturer  
– must be identified. The length of the warranty period  
and any limitations also should be spelled out.  
What the contractor will and will not do. For example,
is site clean up and trash hauling included in the price? 
Ask for a “broom clause.” It makes the contractor 
responsible for all clean-up work, including spills 
and stains.  
Oral promises also should be added to the 
written contract.  
A written statement of your right to cancel the 
contract within three business days if you signed it  
in your home or at a location other than the  
seller’s permanent place of business. During the sales  
transaction, the salesperson (contractor) must give  
you two copies of a cancellation form (one to keep  
and one to send back to the company) and a copy  
of your contract or receipt. The contract or receipt  
must be dated, show the name and address of the  
seller, and explain your right to cancel.
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Keeping Records 
Keep all paperwork related to your project in one place. 
This includes copies of the contract, change orders 
and correspondence with your home improvement 
professionals. Keep a log or journal of all phone calls, 
conversations and activities. You also might want to 
take photographs as the job progresses. These records 
are especially important if you have problems with your 
project – during or after construction. 

Completing the Job: A Checklist 
Before you sign off and make the final payment, use this 
checklist to make sure the job is complete. Check that: 

 All work meets the standards spelled out in  
 the contract. 

 You’ve written warranties for materials and   
 workmanship. 

 Proof that all subcontractors and suppliers   
 have been paid. 

 The job site has been cleaned up and cleared of   
 excess materials, tools and equipment. 

 You’ve inspected and approved the  
 completed work. 

Reverse Mortgages 

a reverse mortgage may be an option to help supplement 
your income. However, because your home is such a 
valuable asset, you may want to consult with your family, 
attorney, or financial advisor before applying for a reverse 
mortgage. Knowing your rights and responsibilities as a 
borrower may help to minimize your financial risks and 
avoid any threat of foreclosure or loss on your home. 

How Reverse Mortgages Work 

A reverse mortgage is a loan where a lender pays you 
a monthly advance, a line of credit, or a combination of 
both while you continue to live in your home. The amount 
you’re eligible to borrow generally is based on your age, 
the equity in your home, and the interest rate the lender is 
charging. Funds you receive from a reverse mortgage may 
be used for any purpose. 

With a reverse mortgage, you retain title to your home. 
You are responsible for maintaining your home and 
paying all real estate taxes. Depending on the plan you 
select, your reverse mortgage becomes due with interest 
when you move, sell your home, reach the end of a pre-
selected loan period, or die. When you die, the lender 

doesn’t take title to your home, but your heirs must pay 
off the loan. Usually, selling the home or refinancing the 
property repays the debt. 

Facts to Consider About Reverse Mortgages 

Reverse mortgages are rising-debt loans. The interest 
is added to the principal loan balance each month,  
because it’s not paid on a current basis. The amount  
you owe increases over time as the interest  
compounds. Some reverse mortgages have fixed rate  
interest; others have adjustable rates that can change  
over the lifetime of the loan.  
Reverse mortgages use some or all of the equity in 
your home, leaving fewer assets for you and  
your heirs.  
The three types of reverse mortgages – FHA insured, 
lender-insured, and uninsured – vary according to  
their costs and terms. Check the features of each to  
select the type that is best suited for your needs. 
Before considering a reverse mortgage, consult with  
family members, your attorney, or financial advisor.  
Reverse mortgages typically charge loan origination 
fees and closing costs. Insured plans charge  
insurance premiums and some plans have mortgage  
servicing fees. You may be able to finance these  
costs if you want to avoid paying them in cash. But, if  
you finance the costs, they will be added to your loan  
amount and you will pay interest on them. 
Your legal obligation to repay the loan is limited by 
the value of your home at the time the loan is repaid.  
This would include any appreciation in the value after  
your loan began. 

There are various reverse mortgage plans offered. 
Consult your attorney or financial advisor about the tax 
consequences of the particular plan you’re considering. 

Reverse Mortgage Safeguards 

The Federal Truth in Lending Act (TILA) is one of the best 
protections you have with a reverse mortgage. TILA 
requires lenders to disclose the costs and terms of reverse 
mortgages. This includes the Annual Percentage Rate 
(APR) and payment terms. If you choose a credit line as 
your loan advance, lenders also must tell you of charges 
related to opening and using your credit account.

You are entitled to counseling from a federally-approved 
reverse mortgage counselor if you apply for a reverse 
mortgage, so be sure to take advantage of that!

MORTGAGE TERMS 

Annual Percentage Rate (APR): Cost of the credit, 
which includes the interest and all other finance charges. 

the interest rate you were quoted, there are significant 
fees being added to the loan.

Points: Fees paid to the lender for a lower interest rate. 

should be paid at the time of the loan.

Prepayment Penalty: Fees required to be paid by you 
if the loan is paid off early. Try to avoid any prepayment 
penalty unless you are very sure that you will hold the 
loan for longer than the pre-payment penalty period.  In 
the State of Washington, pre-payment penalties are not 
allowed on second mortgages. 

Balloon Payment: Large payment due at the end of a 
loan. This happens when a borrower has a low monthly 
payment covering only interest and a small portion of the 
principal, leaving almost the whole loan amount due in 
one payment at the end. If you cannot make this payment, 
you could lose your home. 

Yield Spread Premium (YSP): Payment to the broker for 
selling a higher interest rate loan than would otherwise 
be charged for that borrower. It must be disclosed to 
the borrower at the time of the loan and is generally 
acceptable if there are no other broker fees and this is 
how the broker is getting paid for his or her services. 

Appraisal: A determination of the value of a home by a 
third party who is hired by the lender to assure the home 
has enough value to pay off the loan should the borrower 
default. It is typically paid for by borrower.

Loan Origination Fees: Fees paid to the lender for 
handling the paperwork in arranging the loan. These are 
prepaid finance charges paid at the loan closing and are 
included in your APR calculation. 

Mortgage Broker Fees: Fees paid to the mortgage 
broker for handling the paperwork for arranging the loan.

Escrow: The holding of money or documents by a neutral 
third party prior to closing. It can also be an account held 
by the lender (or servicer) into which a homeowner pays 
money for taxes and insurance. 

Interest Rate: is the cost of borrowing money expressed 
as a percentage rate. 

Lock-In: A written agreement guaranteeing a home buyer 
a specific interest rate on a home loan provided that the 
loan is closed within a certain period of time, such as 

number of points to be paid at closing.

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI): Insurance that 
protects the lender against a loss if a borrower defaults 
on the loan. It is usually required for loans in which the 
down payment is less than 20 percent of the sales price 
or, in a refinancing when the amount financed is greater 



DOCUMENT NAME DOCUMENT DESCRIPTION (CHECK ) 
if buyer has a copy

REQUEST 
COPY FROM

Promissory Note Borrowers acknoledgement of loan 
and promise ro repay Lender

Deed of Trust Records lien and grant powers to 
trustee incase of defualt Lender

Rider(s) Adds additional loan terms/
restrictions Lender

Washington  
Disclosure Summary

Required on purchase 
Transactions,contains important loan 
details.

Lender or Broker

Good Faith Estimate Preliminary estimate of fees and 
funds Re-disclosure of estimated fees Lender or Broker

Second Good Faith Estimate Required if there are major changes 
to the intial one

Truth in Lending Disclosure Shows repayment schedule and total 
amount you will have paid in the end Lender or Broker

Three Day Right of Rescission 
(equity or refinance loans only)  
(not applicable in purchase transaction)

Notice of borrower’s right to cancel 
the transaction during the 3 days 
after loan signing

Lender

Estimated HUD-1 Ecsrow agent’s estimate of costs and 
funds to be distrubed Escrow Agent

Final HUD-1 Final accountingof costs and funds to 
be disbursed Escrow Agent

Credit Report 
(not required to be provided  
to borrower but can be requested)

Three-bureau credit decision Lender or Broker

Lock-in Agreement Shows whether the rate was locked 
and if so, what the rate was Lender or Broker

Servicing Disclosure Disclosure to the borrower whether 
the lender intends to sell the loan Lender or broker

Insurance Disclosure  
(if applicable)

Discloses any insurance products 
that were sold to the barrower in 
conjunction with the loan

Lender

Broker Disclosure Broke’s agreement to provide a 
servce and what cost (only applicable 
when broker was used)

Broker

Affiliated Business Disclosure Required when a service provider 
refers the barrower to an enitity the 
provider has beneficial interest in

Party that refered 
barrower to an 

affiliate
HOEPA Notice Additional disclosure required if the 

APR is more than 10% above the 
treasury yield, OR total fees are more 
than 8% of loan amount

Lender

LOAN DOCUMENT CHECKLIST
Use this Loan Document Checklist to make sure you have all the right documents to secure your loan.
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RESOURCES
The Following Agencies Served as Resources  
for this Project: 

AARP 
www.aarp.org 

Fannie Mae 
www.fanniemae.com 

Federal Citizen Information Center 
www.pueblo.gsa.gov 

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation 
www.fdic.gov 

Federal Reserve Board 
www.federalreserve.gov 

Federal Trade Commission 
www.ftc.gov 

Freddie Mac 
www.freddiemac.com 

Ginnie Mae 
www.ginniemae.gov 

Seattle/King County Coalition for Responsible 
Lending 
seattle.gov/housing/predatorylending/Default.htm 

U.S. Department of Urban and Housing 
Development (HUD) 
www.hud.gov 

Washington State Housing Finance Commission 
www.wshfc.org 

Washington State Office of the Attorney General 
www.atg.wa.gov 

Disclaimer: This information is intended to provide you 
with general information about buying and refinancing 
your home. It touches on the basic steps in the process 
and suggests guidelines for avoiding pitfalls, but it does 
not attempt to provide financial or legal advice. If you 
lack knowledge or experience in negotiating terms, 
arranging financing, analyzing tax consequences, or 
handling related details, you should contact an attorney, 
or request assistance from your local housing authority 
before buying or refinancing a home. It is designed to be 
an educational tool. It does not endorse or recommend 
any person, product, or institution.
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www.dfi.wa.gov
www.homeownership.wa.gov


