

## State of Washington

## DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS

P.O. Box 41200 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-1200
Telephone (360) 902-8700 ● TDD (360) 664-8126 ● FAX (360) 586-5068 ● http://www.dfi.wa.gov

## General Licensure Requirements for Consumer Loan Applicants

Provided below is a summary of some of the more common licensure requirements associated with applying for a consumer loan license in the state of Washington. This is not intended to be a comprehensive list but is meant to give applicants an idea of some of the more common issues that may arise while applying for this license.

- Applicant must provide the **criminal history** of applicant, officers, or principals relating to:
  - o gross misdemeanor convictions involving dishonesty or financial misconduct within the past seven years
  - o felony convictions within the past seven years
  - o violations of banking laws of Washington or the United States within the past seven years
- Applicant must provide information relating to any **adverse actions** taken in Washington, another state, or by the federal government against:
  - o any license held by the applicant or its **officers or principals** to conduct business under the Act, or a similar statute in another state, if the license has been **suspended or revoked** within the past five years
  - any applicant, principal, officer, or board director if any are or have been subject to an
    injunction or an administrative action issued pursuant to the Consumer Loan Act, the
    Consumer Protection Act, the Mortgage Broker Practices Act, the Insurance Code, the Securities
    Act, or similar laws in this or another state
- Applicant must provide information to show the applicant, principals, officers, or board directors have
  the financial responsibility, character, and general fitness to command the confidence of the
  community and to warrant a belief that the business will be operated honestly, fairly, and efficiently
  within the purposes of the Act. The applicant must provide information related to a history of unpaid
  debts or insolvency
- Applicant may not employ an officer, principal, or employee that has been convicted of or pled guilty
  or nolo contender (no contest) to a felony in a domestic, foreign, or military court during the past
  seven years or at any time if the felony involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money
  laundering.
- Applicant must be **domiciled in the United States**
- Applicant must maintain a **surety bond**: the cost of obtaining a bond varies
  - o Nonresidential or residential mortgage loan origination: \$30,000 minimum; \$150,000 maximum
  - o Residential mortgage loan servicing: no bond unless elect to use bond in lieu of net worth
  - o Third-party loan modification services: \$30,000
  - o Student education loan servicing: \$30,000
- Servicing applicants must have a minimum **net worth**, see WAC 208-620-321 through 208-620-324

If you have any questions about the information outlined above, please feel free to contact the Washington DFI Licensing Unit at (360) 902-8703, options 2, 3, 1, or <a href="mailto:CSLicensing@dfi.wa.gov">CSLicensing@dfi.wa.gov</a>.