Washington State Department of Financial Institutions

Business Opportunities FAQ's

Initial Business Opportunity Registration

What do you need to file?

When do you need to file?

The statute does not specify a time period. However, you should file at least 15 business days prior to your intended date to begin selling in order to allow for sufficient time for the Division to review your file and issue comments. This is particularly important if you are participating in a business opportunity trade show here in Washington, when many other business opportunities will be registering as well.

You cannot offer your business opportunity until the Division has issued you a permit. The permit is effective for one year and is renewable.

[Top]


Business Opportunity Registration Renewal

What do you need to file?

When do I need to file?

There is no specified time period. However, it is recommended that, as with the initial filing, you file at least 15 days prior to the expiration of your permit in order to allow sufficient time for the Division to review the filing and issue any necessary comments.

[Top]


Business Opportunity Registration Amendment

An amendment is necessary whenever there is any material change in the information required in the Disclosure Document.

What do you need to file?

When do you need to file?

The statute does not specify a time period, but the amendment should be filed as soon as reasonably possible after the event triggering the material changes, and should be filed before the further sale of any business opportunity.

* This document is a PDF file, and you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view it. If you don't already have Acrobat Reader installed on your computer, you may download it for free from Adobe.

[Top]

DFI