Advance Payday Loan and Advance Loans
Unlicensed Payday Loans
Updated: October 22, 2014
The Washington State Department of Financial Institutions (DFI) has received complaints regarding a company identified as Advance Payday Loan. Washington consumers have reported they were provided with a purported business address for Advance Payday Loan at the Seattle Municipal Tower, which is located at 700 Fifth Avenue in Seattle, Washington. DFI has verified that the occupants of the Seattle Municipal Tower do not include any business using the name of Advance Payday Loan.
The phone numbers associated with Advance Payday Loan include 360-483-5116, 360-483-5106, and 206-452-3600. A website associated with this company has been identified as www.2000loans.net. The Department has no other contact information.
DFI also received a complaint from a consumer who was the target of an advance fee loan scam by individuals claiming to be representatives of Advance Loans. After the consumer applied for a loan online, a representative offered the consumer a $10,000 loan if the consumer first paid an advance fee of $480. After the consumer paid the fee, the representative demanded additional fees. The consumer never received a loan or refund. The phone number associated with this apparent scam is 206-452-3615. A representative identified the company’s business address as 91 S. Jackson St. in Seattle, Washington, which appears to be a post office.
These companies are not licensed by DFI to provide loans, and are not registered to conduct business in Washington State by the Department of Revenue or the Secretary of State. Washington residents are advised that state law provides in RCW 31.45.105(1)(d) and (3) that a small loan made by an unlicensed entity to a person physically located in Washington is uncollectible and unenforceable in Washington State.
DFI strongly recommends that consumers deal only with those lenders that are properly licensed to conduct business. Consumers can determine whether lenders are properly licensed using the "Verify a License" feature on the DFI’s website at www.dfi.wa.gov/consumers/findcompany.htm.
Payday Loan Collection Laws
Washington State law prohibits threatening or harassing behavior by individuals attempting to collect a debt. The federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act states that debt collectors must send consumers a written notice within five days of the first collection phone call, stating the amount of the debt and what it relates to. Debt collectors cannot state or imply that failure to pay a debt is a crime. They cannot call before 8:00 a.m. or after 9:00 p.m. They cannot harass or abuse consumers, or contact consumers' places of employment.
If you are suspicious of unlicensed activity by a payday lender please contact the DFI at 1-877-RING-DFI (746-4334), or online at www.dfi.wa.gov.
If you feel you have been the victim of a loan scam please contact the Federal Trade Commission at 1-877-FTC-HELP (382-4357), or online at www.ftc.gov or contact the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (855) 411-CFPB (2372), or online at www.consumerfinance.gov.
If you feel you have been the victim of a loan scam involving the Internet please contact the Internet Crime Complaint Center online at www.ic3.gov.