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General Licensure Requirements for Consumer Loan Applicants 
Provided below is a summary of some of the more common licensure requirements associated with applying for 
a consumer loan license in the state of Washington.  This is not intended to be a comprehensive list but is meant 
to give applicants an idea of some of the more common issues that may arise while applying for this license. 

• Applicant must provide the criminal history of applicant, officers, or principals relating to: 
o gross misdemeanor convictions involving dishonesty or financial misconduct within the past 

seven years 
o felony convictions within the past seven years 
o violations of banking laws of Washington or the United States within the past seven years 

• Applicant must provide information relating to any adverse actions taken in Washington, another state, 
or by the federal government against: 

o any license held by the applicant or its officers or principals to conduct business under the Act, 
or a similar statute in another state, if the license has been suspended or revoked within the past 
five years 

o any applicant, principal, officer, or board director if any are or have been subject to an 
injunction or an administrative action issued pursuant to the Consumer Loan Act, the 
Consumer Protection Act, the Mortgage Broker Practices Act, the Insurance Code, the Securities 
Act, or similar laws in this or another state 

• Applicant must provide information to show the applicant, principals, officers, or board directors have 
the financial responsibility, character, and general fitness to command the confidence of the 
community and to warrant a belief that the business will be operated honestly, fairly, and efficiently 
within the purposes of the Act. The applicant must provide information related to a history of unpaid 
debts or insolvency 

• Applicant may not employ an officer, principal, or employee that has been convicted of or pled guilty 
or nolo contender (no contest) to a felony in a domestic, foreign, or military court during the past 
seven years or at any time if the felony involved an act of fraud, dishonesty, breach of trust, or money 
laundering. 

• Applicant must be domiciled in the United States  

• Applicant must maintain a surety bond: the cost of obtaining a bond varies  
o Nonresidential or residential mortgage loan origination: $30,000 minimum; $150,000 maximum 
o Residential mortgage loan servicing: no bond unless elect to use bond in lieu of net worth 
o Third-party loan modification services: $30,000  
o Student education loan servicing: $30,000  

• Servicing applicants must have a minimum net worth, see WAC 208-620-321 through 208-620-324 
 
If you have any questions about the information outlined above, please feel free to contact the Washington DFI 
Licensing Unit at (360) 902-8703, options 2, 3, 1, or CSLicensing@dfi.wa.gov.     
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